Selkirk 26 - 12 Jed Forest: Young off as Jed crash at Selkirk

Share this article
Have your say

SELKIRK eased out a stuffy Jed side in the RBS Cup last night at Philiphaugh in a match which saw Scotland sevens player Lewis Young, who had earlier scored two tries for the visitors, red-carded in the second half for stamping on the intervention of the touch judge.

Scorers: Selkirk: Tries: McVie (2), Clapperton; Con: McVie; Pens: McVie (3). Jed-Forest: Tries: L Young (2); Con: Chisholm.

In a clash rearranged following its postponement on Saturday, Selkirk started well and posted the first points of the evening with a penalty in five minutes by scrum-half Michael McVie. Jed’s response was quick, and despite Iain Chisholm missing a penalty, a succession of drives saw Young accelerate away for a try, which Chisholm converted. McVie added a second penalty before Lewis Young intercepted a loose pass to run the length of the field and score.

McVie kept Selkirk in the hunt with his third penalty, and then sprung the Jed defence with a quickly-taken penalty for a try while Euan Scott was in the sin-bin. The same player added the conversion for a 16-12 interval lead. The second half was a dour contest, with Selkirk having to defend a series of Jed attacks. Their forwards were the more aggressive and had a monopoly of possession. However, it was Selkirk who seemed to have scored through Scott Hendrie, only to be pulled back for offside, before Darren Clapperton made sure with a try in the left-hand corner.

Young’s red card eased the pressure on Selkirk, who passed up several penalty opportunities and knocked the ball over the line before McVie crossed for a try to add to the Jed agony. Jed did make a late fight of it, but by then Selkirk were comfortable

Selkirk: F Harkness; R Banks, S Hendrie, R Nixon, D Clapperton; G Craig, M McVie; S Renwick, J Bett, C Graur, A Renwick, M Kissick, C Johnston, A Duckett, RE MacDougall. Replacements: A Given, S Forrest, C Lacour, N Darling, E Turnbull.

Jed Forest: L Young; G Young, I Chisholm, R Hogg, D Gobby; E Scott, N Fua-Hunt; G Slorance, David Grieve, A Frame, G Elder, N Cook, |M Weekley, Donald Grieve, J Sudlow. Replacements: A Ions, S Raeburn, G Young, R Miller, J Szukdro, C Gillon.

Referee: C Rudkin.