Six Nations: Two Scotland changes for team to face France

Alex Dunbar comes back into the starting XV. PIcture: Neil Hanna
Alex Dunbar comes back into the starting XV. PIcture: Neil Hanna
Have your say

SCOTLAND coach Vern Cotter has made two changes to his team to face France in the Six Nations at BT Murrayfield on Sunday.

The Glasgow pair of Alex Dunbar and Josh Strauss come into the side, with Ryan Wilson dropping to the bench and centre Mark Bennett not in the squad.

South Africa-born Strauss will make his third start for Scotland, a first in the Six Nations and at BT Murrayfield, with No 8 David Denton sidelined with a groin injury.

Dunbar will make a first appearance for his country in over a year after a series of injuries and comes in at inside centre, with Duncan Taylor moving to outside.

Cotter, who will be hoping to build on the recent win over Italy in Rome. said: “It’s great to be back at home after a good win on the road. The players are looking forward to putting in a top performance at BT Murrayfield this weekend.

“We’re expecting the French to be physical. They have a culture of trying to dominate their opposition. They are confrontational and will try and keep the ball alive, so we will have to put in a great defensive performance.”

Greig Laidlaw will earn his 50th cap and draw level with David Sole’s record of 25 appearances as captain.

Scotland team to play France in RBS Six Nations at BT Murrayfield on Sunday, 3pm

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow)

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow)

13. Duncan Taylor (Saracens)

12. Alex Dunbar (Glasgow)

11. Tim Visser (Harlequins

10. Finn Russell (Glasgow)

9. Greig Laidlaw (Gloucester. capt)

1. Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh)

2. Ross Ford (Edinburgh)

3. WP Nel (Edinburgh)

4. Richie Gray (Castres)

5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow)

6. John Barclay (Scarlets)

7. John Hardie (Edinburgh)

8. Josh Strauss (Glasgow)


16. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)

17. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh)

18. Moray Low (Exeter Chiefs)

19. Tim Swinson (Glasgow)

20. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow)

21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh)

22. Peter Horne (Glasgow)

23. Sean Lamont (Glasgow)

READ MORE - Rumour Mill: Scotland call-ups | Georgios Samaras moves to US | Forrester keen on Ibrox stay


Keep up to date with all our sport news on The Scotsman’s Sport page on Facebook

Follow @ScotsmanSport for the latest sports news and comment