Scotland trio released to play in Edinburgh match

Edinburgh trio Matt Scott, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Rory Sutherland have been released from international duty so they can play for their club in Friday's Guinness Pro12 clash with league leaders Connacht at BT Murrayfield.

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne will play at scrum-half for Edinburgh against Connacht on Friday. Picture: Ian Rutherford

Hidalgo-Clyne and Sutherland were unused substitutes in Scotland’s 36-20 win over Italy in Rome on Saturday. Scott was not in the match-day 23.

Scotland play France at home in their next Six Nations match a week on Sunday.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Edinburgh head coach Alan Solomons has made four changes in total to his starting side to take on Connacht.

In addition to the returning internatinal trio, centre Chris Dean gains promotion from the bench to start in the centre.

Scott and Dean form the midfield partnership, with the back-three combination of Tom Brown, Damien Hoyland and Blair Kinghorn retaining their respective spots in the starting side.

Phil Burleigh, who scored the opening try in last week’s 24-23 defeat of Scarlets, continues at stand-off and partners the incoming Hidalgo-Clyne at half-back.

In the pack, Sutherland replaces the recently re-signed Allan Dell in the front-row alongside hooker Neil Cochrane and tighthead prop John Andress, while Anton Bresler and try-scorer against Scarlets, Ben Toolis, continue at lock.

Jamie Ritchie and Hamish Watson start at blindside and openside flanker, with Cornell Du Preez wearing the No 8 jersey.

Solomons said: “Connacht are at the top of the Guinness Pro12 table and we are looking forward to the challenge that taking on the league leaders presents.”

Edinburgh team to play Connacht (Guinness Pro12, BT Murrayfield, Friday, 7.35pm, live on BBC 2 Scotland)

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland

13. Chris Dean

12. Matt Scott

11. Tom Brown

10. Phil Burleigh

9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Rory Sutherland

2. Neil Cochrane

3. John Andress

4. Anton Bresler

5. Ben Toolis

6. Jamie Ritchie

7. Hamish Watson

8. Cornell Du Preez


16. George Turner

17. Allan Dell

18. Simon Berghan

19. Alex Toolis

20. Magnus Bradbury

21. Sean Kennedy

22. Sam Beard

23. Dougie Fife