Mark Cairns to captain Scotland Club XV side

Share this article
Have your say

THE Scotland Club XV for ­tomorrow’s match against ­Ireland Club International will have players from nine RBS Premier Division clubs and will be captained by Currie’s Mark Cairns.

Seventeen of the squad are uncapped at Scotland Club XV level with 11 in the starting line-up. These are Currie full-back Jamie Forbes; Ayr winger Craig Gossman; Heriot’s centre Max Learmonth; Gala winger Craig Robertson and scrum-half George Graham; Boroughmuir prop Robin Hislop; Edinburgh Accies prop Alex Allan and flanker Hamish Watson; Aberdeen Grammar lock Murray Douglas; Melrose forward Ross Miller and back-row Andrew Nagle.

The match takes place at Millbrae in Ayr. Kick-off will be at 7:30pm; entry is free. Scotland Club XV head coach Phil Leck said: “We have gone for a mix of experience and youth in this side and put together a group of players we know are capable of winning.”

Scotland Club XV: Jamie Forbes (Currie), Craig Gossman (Ayr), Max Learmonth (Heriot’s), Dean Kelbrick (Ayr), Craig Robertson (Gala), Lee Millar (Gala), George Graham (Gala), Robin Hislop (Boroughmuir), Fraser Brown (Heriot’s), Alex Allan (Edinburgh Accies), Murray Douglas (Aberdeen Grammar), Ross Miller (Melrose), Mark Cairns (captain) (Currie), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Accies), Andrew Nagle (Melrose). Subs: Kevin Bryce (Heriot’s), Gary Holborn (Melrose), Luke Pettie (Gala), Jason Hill (Heriot’s), Gary Graham (Gala), Peter Jericevich (Ayr), Stuart Edwards (Stirling County), Cameron Ferguson (Heriot’s).