Maitland and Seymour in Scots team to face France

Sean Maitland hasn't played since January due to injury.  Picture: David Rogers/Getty Images
Sean Maitland hasn't played since January due to injury. Picture: David Rogers/Getty Images
Share this article
Have your say

SEAN Maitland and Tommy Seymour are back in the Scotland team for the final World Cup warm-up match, against France in Paris on Saturday night.

The pair have been absent from the summer Tests with shoulder and back injuries respectively but have recovered to be named among five changes to the side that defeated Italy 48-7 at BT Murrayfield last weekend.

Maitland, who has not played since January, is picked at full-back in place of Stuart Hogg who was injured against Italy and was wearing a foot brace at Tuesday’s World Cup squad announcement.

Seymour comes in on the wing.

Centre Matt Scott starts alongside Mark Bennett in the remaining change to the back division, while the inclusion of back-row John Hardie and lock Richie Gray complete the changes to the pack. Gray is partnered in the second row by his younger brother Jonny.

France captain Thierry Dusautoir will face Scotland after recovering from a knee injury.

Coach Philippe Saint-Andre has made only two changes to the team that beat England 25-20 in Paris last month.

Flanker Dusautoir replaces Bernard Le Roux after a two-game lay-off and Alexandre Flanquart comes in for Yoann Maestri in the second row.

Veteran stand-off Frederic Michalak will be partnered against at half-back by scrum-half Sebastien Tillous-Borde after the pair impressed against England.

Scotland team (v France, Saturday, Stade de France, Paris, 8pm UK time)

15 Sean Maitland (London Irish)

14 Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)

13 Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors)

12 Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby)

11 Tim Visser (Harlequins)

10 Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors)

9 Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Gloucester)

1 Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby)

2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby)

3 Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby)

4 Richie Gray (Castres)

5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)

6 Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)

7 John Hardie (unattached)

8 David Denton (Edinburgh Rugby)


16 Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors)

17 Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors)

18 Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons)

19 Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors)

20 Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan)

21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby)

22 Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

23 Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors)

France team

15 Spedding, 14 Huget, 13 Bastareaud, 12 Fofana, 11 Nakaitaci, 10 Michalak, 9 Tillous-Borde; 1 Ben Aruos, 2 Guirado, 3 Slimani, 4 Pape, 5 Flanquart, 6 Dusautoir (c), 7 Chouly, 8 Picamoles.

Replacements: 16 Szarzewski, 17 Debaty, 18 Mas, 19 Le Roux, 20 Nyanga, 21 Parra, 22 Tales, 23 Dumoulin.