Edinburgh name team for Munster crunch

Anton Bresler is set to make his 50th appearance. Picture: Ian Rutherford
Anton Bresler is set to make his 50th appearance. Picture: Ian Rutherford
Share this article
Have your say

Edinburgh have made three changes for their crucial match away to Munster tomorrow night, with Scotland centre Matt Scott returning after a six-week lay-off with an elbow injury.

Alan Solomons’ side are in a desperate fight for a place in the top-six that would secure Champions Cup rugby next season and travel to Cork this afternoon for the clash with the former European champions.

Edinburgh lie sixth, equal on points with Munster but ahead on points difference.

With Phil Burleigh and Michael Allen both injured, Andries Strauss comes in at inside centre to form a new-look midfield partnership with Scott.

The pack is unchanged, with lock Anton Bresler making his 50th appearance for the club.

Namibian-born Bresler, who will be making his 23rd start of the season, said: “It’s a huge honour to be named in this side to earn my 50th cap for Edinburgh.

“Since the day I arrived, the club have really welcomed me and I love the family environment we’ve created. I’m really enjoying my time here.

“We have a really challenging game tomorrow. We know how tough the Irish provinces are at home – we were reminded of that last time out against Leinster – but we’ll be going all out to ensure we stay in the top six going into our last game.

“With the final match of the season at home [against Cardiff], it would be fantastic to have a great home crowd at BT Murrayfield cheering us on to reach the upper level of European competition next season.”

Munster coach Anthony Foley makes five changes for the game., four in the pack, with Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Dave Foley and Dave O’Callaghan all returning to the starting XV.

Kilcoyne and Scannell join Stephen Archer in the front row, Foley overcomes an ankle injury to partner Billy Holland in the second row, while back row O’Callaghan has rehabbed knee bruising to start at 6 in a move that sees captain CJ Stander revert to No 8 with Tommy O’Donnell remaining at 7.

In the backs, Andrew Conway joins Keith Earls and full-back Simon Zebo.

Conor Murray and Johnny Holland continue at half-back as do Rory Scannell and Francis Saili in midfield.

Guinness Pro12

Tonight at Irish Independent Park, Cork kick-off 7.35pm

Live on BBC Sport Scotland website

MUNSTER: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Johnny Holland, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Dave Foley, Billy Holland; Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander (capt). Subs: Mike Sherry, James Cronin, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Ronan O’Mahony.

EDINBURGH: Blair Kinghorn; Damien Hoyland, Matt Scott, Andries Strauss, Tom Brown; Jason Tovey, Sean Kennedy; Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford (capt), WP Nel, Anton Bresler, Ben Toolis, Jamie Ritchie, John Hardie, Cornell Du Preez. Subs: Stuart McInally, Rory Sutherland, John Andress, Alex Toolis, Magnus Bradbury, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Chris Dean, Dougie Fife.