Dundee HSFP 30-25 Heriot’s: Dundee’s ‘massive’ win

Share this article
Have your say

Dundee High took advantage of all their relegation-haunted rivals having a blank day in 
the Premiership, combining with Edinburgh opponents 
Heriot’s to provide an eight-try thriller at Riverside, which was a late choice of venue after 
Mayfield had been declared 

There was no doubting the significance of the try bonus win for the home coach Ian Rankin. “This was a massive win for us, given the enormity of the occasion, the quality of rugby was amazing,’’ said Rankin.

An early try from Heriots flanker Fraser Brown was converted by scrum-half Graham Wilson, who also kicked a penalty in a mad-cap spell that was capped by tries from lock Richie Hawkins and livewire scrum-half Andy Dymock, one of which was converted by 
centre Jack Steele, who added a penalty before winger Andy McLean nipped over.

The Goldenacre side tied the scores in 27 minutes when the impressive CJ Osazuwa thundered over for captain Wilson to add the extras.

In a dramatic two minutes before the interval Dundee seized the initiative, scoring through a Steele penalty and an unconverted try from full back Jamie Urquhart.

Dundee No 8 Richie McIver raced through a gaping hole in the Heriots defence after the break but Phil Smith’s side were not done, hitting back with a Wilson penalty, and an unconverted try from replacement Russell Nimmo.

Scorers: Dundee – Tries: Hawkins, A Dymock, McLean, Urquhart, McIver. Cons: Steele. Pen: Steele. Heriots: Brown, Osazuwa, Nimmo. Cons: Wilson 2 Pens: Wilson 2
Dundee HSFP: J Urquhart; A McLean, H Duthie(c), J Steele, R Lemon; B Laursen, A Dymock. S Longwell, D Russell, A Brown, R Hawkins, A Linton, D Levison, I Wilson, R McIver. Subs used: C Cumming, A Redmayne, G Robertson. N Dymock.
Heriot’s: M Penn; M Paterson, M Learmonth, C Ferguson, C Goudie; OJ Brown, G Wilson(c). G Cameron, K Byrce, S Cessford, J Hill, CJ Osazawa, F Brown, C Mulligan, J Syme. Subs used: JP Ward, R Nimmo, B Morrisey, R Carmichael, H Boisseau.
Referee: L Linton.