Carrick collect the BT Shield

A victorious Carrick lift the BT Shield
A victorious Carrick lift the BT Shield
Have your say

By Gary Heatly

Carrick produced a great performance to defeat Highland and lift the BT Shield at BT Murrayfield yesterday.

Lewis Clark scored the clinching try as they won 34-27, the winger having also scored earlier. Their other try scorers were Kyle Johnson, Gordon Gregor and replacement Gordon Brown. Johnson kicked the rest of the points.

Highland’s tries in defeat came from Tom Brogan, Paddy Bryden, Andrew Findlater and Craig Little while Morris Dillon kicked five points and Craig Irvine two.

ln the BT Bowl final earlier, there was late drama as Millbrae defeated Aberdeen University 17-15 to lift the trophy.

With just two minutes remaining Craig Steele kicked a long-range penalty to give Millbrae a two point lead. The students refused to give up and won a penalty of their own, but William Kelly could not manage to convert it and Millbrae held on.

At half-time Millbrae had led 7-5, the students taking the lead through a Thomas Forson try before the Ayrshire side hit back with a penalty try converted by James Armstrong. A converted try by Keith Hunter put Millbrae 14-5 up before one by Max Stobbs for the students. Patrick Clark then put Aberdeen University 15-14 up with a penalty before the late drama.