All Blacks unveil squad to take on Scots at Murrayfield

Share this article
Have your say

Scotland could face an All Blacks team containing two new caps when the sides open the EMC Autumn rugby Test series at Murrayfield on Sunday week.

Announcing a 32-strong squad for a tour that also 
includes meetings with Italy, Wales and England, coach Steve Hansen called up Wellington hooker Dane Coles and Waikato scrum half Tawera Kerr-Barlow with a view to earning their 

However, the squad is also packed with experience including World Cup hero Piri Weepu and 75-times capped second row Ally Williams, both of whom had question marks placed against their selection.

Also, Dan Carter whose 1360 points from 92 matches make him the highest scorer in 
international rugby history is included in a squad to be 
captained by Richie McCaw.

Coach Steve Hansen has indicated that he intends to rotate his squad with every player getting game time in the opening matches against Scotland and Italy.

Meanwhile, the Springboks have named five new caps in a squad which will face Scotland in Edinburgh six days after the All Blacks visit.

One notable absentee will be star winger Bryan Habana.

New Zealand tour squad:

Forwards: Keven Mealamu, Andrew Hore, Dane Coles, Tony Woodcock, Owen Franks, Ben Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Wyatt Crockett, Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano, Ali Williams, Richie McCaw (c), Sam Cane, Kieran Read, Liam Messam, Victor Vito, Adam Thomson.

Backs: Aaron Smith, Piri Weepu, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Dan Carter, Aaron Cruden, Beauden Barrett, Ma’a Nonu, Tamati Ellison, Conrad Smith, Ben Smith, Cory Jane, Hosea Gear, Julian Savea, Israel Dagg.