REVEALED: Kirkcaldy & Central Fife Sports Council Awards winners

The 2018 Kirkcaldy & Central Fife Sports Council awards were held inside the atrium at Fife College’s St Brycedale campus last week.

Kirkcaldy Rugby Club
Kirkcaldy Rugby Club

Almost 200 guests were in attendance as a total of 14 awards were handed out, including the Fife Free Press Sports Personality of the Year, as voted for by readers of

Fife Free Press Sports Personality of the Year winner Connor Wood (Kirkcaldy Rugby) receives his trophy from FFP editor Allan Crow. Runners-up were motor racers Rory Butcher and Jonny Adam, and Fife Flyers coach Todd Dutiaume.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

John Buist of Flyers Trampoline Club receives the Junior Award trophy from Chief Inspector Tom Brown. Runners-up were Tiyan Shek (Fife Dance Dreams) and Elyse Milne (Dardas Diamonds baton twirlers)
Winner Arran Stowe, of Fins Swimming Club, receives his trophy from Alistair Cameron, representing sponsor MacGregor Solicitors. Runners-up: Rebecca McGowan (St Johnstone Women FC), Maia McLelland (Dardas Diamond baton twirlers)
World champion stock car racer Gordon Moodie (right) receives his award from Paul Hossack of Fife Sport & Leisure Trust. Runners-up were international fencer Chloe Dickson and Commonwealth Games medallist, swimmer Mark Szaranek.
Don Burns (right) collects the award on behalf of Kirkcaldy Rugby head coach Quintan Sanft from Sally Howie of Dundas Estates. Runners-up were martial arts instructor Alex Hunter and Highland dancing teacher Danielle Law.
Levenmouth netball coach Francesca Caira receives her trophy from Senior Active Schools Co-ordinator Murray McBain. Runners-up were Beth McCrimmond (Glenrothes) and Sam Lacy (Glenrothes).
Abigail King, who set up the successful 'Our Girls Can' project at Kirkcaldy North Primary, receives her trophy from Senior Active Schools Co-ordinator Murray McBain. Runners-up were Findlay Rush (Glenrothes HS) and Abbie Forgan.
World Para Athletics London Marathon Cup winner Derek Rae receives the Disability Award from Elaine Roberts of PLM Optometrists. Runners-up were Leven para-trap shooter Mike Drever and runner Owen Miller from Dunfermline.
National 2 champions Kirkcaldy Rugby Club receive the trophy from sports council chairman Kenny Crichton (centre). Runners-up were national ball hockey champions Kirkcaldy Knights and Kirkcaldy Canoe Club.
Rising Phoenix Brazilian Ju-Jitsu Club, who produced three junior world champions, receive their trophy from Sports Council chairman Kenny Crichton. Runners-up were Flyers Trampoline Club and Danielle Law School of Dance.
Michael Mellon (right), from Cardenden, receives the Gary Innes Memorial Shield from Ken White. Michael was the only Scot picked for the Invictus Games, and returned from Australia with two silvers and one bronze medal.
Kingdom Boxing Club's George Forrester collects his award from Rona Mcraw (Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils). Runners-up were Disability Sport Fife's Robert & Steven Anderson, and baton twirling coach Linda Paterson.
All winners were considered for the Special Achievement Award. Derek Rae (right) receives the trophy from Mark Goodall, curriculum manager of sport and fitness at Fife College. Runners-up were John Buist and Gordon Moodie.
Fife Free Press sports editor Matthew Elder (right) receives his Outstanding Service award from Sports Council chairman Kenny Crichton. Matthew has been heavily involved in the annual awards evening since its inception 11 years ago.