Alpha males Tanfield back at the top of the league

Share this article
Have your say

Tanfield have jumped to the top of Division 1 of the 
Alpha Trophies Edinburgh Bowling League with the record six-times champions powering to an 8-1 win at home to Northern in last night’s fifth round.

Clear cut wins for the rinks skipped by Graeme McIntosh, Stuart Campbell and Robert White had the home support in raptures but they were denied the celebrations of a clean sweep when David Snodgrass was held to a peel.

Snodgrass and his rink of Jamie McIntosh, Alex Thompson and Andy Sneddon led 16-15 going into the last but dropped a costly single to Gordon Wilson Snr.

Defending champions Parkside are only one point adrift and former champions Pilrig and Craigentinny also represent danger in the weeks ahead.

Parkside sustained their title challenge with a 7-2 home win against Maitland but blew a chance to go top when the normally very reliable Alex Hurry dropped a late 5 that cost him a 19-18 defeat from Ian Gardner, Ross Barclay, George Trotter and Alan Trotter.

The Trotter brothers were the hero figures for Maitland with George producing a trail conversion for a hold of 3 on the penultimate end then Alan adding two more. Derek Smith carded a 5 for Parkside at his seventh end to lead 13-6 and he traded on that cushion to skip Hally Cockburn, Bob Ramsay and Brian Salvona to a 20-14 win over Brian Higgins.

Paul Veitch made space from 10-9 to 15-9 and skipped Steven Rennie, Euan Diven and Neil Watson to a 15-10 win over Gordon Clark while Craig Bryce, Gareth Edwards, Willie Watson and Robert Donaldson beat Jim Robertson, 19-16.

Craigentinny enjoyed partial success in their bid to get their title bid back on track with the hat-trick champions of 2009/10/11 toppling leaders Pilrig with a 5-4 away win. Kevin McFarlane was their star whizzing into a 16-1 lead and skipping Josh Spalding, Stuart Betts and Gordon Bold to a 20-3 win over Chris Steven.

Willie McDonald skipped Daniel Gormley, Grant McLaren and David Brown to a 28-9 win over Euan Craig. Gavin Smith cheered up Pilrig when inflicting 25-9 pain on Andrew Caldwell and a couple more points went into the home bag when Darren McKenny piped Andrew Jeffrey in a 14-13 thriller.

Queensberry beat Mayfield 7-2 with the rink scores reading: Scott Walker 29, Scott Kearsley 7; Brian Pollard 17, Gavin Thomson 11; Frank O’Reilly 18, Ian Hay 16; Tam Ebbs 15, Paul Manson 20.