Schools basketball: Skippers savour Summer Slam chance

Share this article
Have your say

BASKETBALL: James Young High School’s Leah Stewart is relishing the opportunity to captain the Scottish girls’ team in next month’s Under-14 International Summer Slam at Meadowbank in Edinburgh.

Leah is one of the 28 Scottish youngsters selected for the boys’ and girls’ events and she said: “It makes me feel proud that I have been selected to represent my country.

“I will be training hard, learning and developing new skills and make many good friends.”

The squads were selected from the Future Starz programme during the national camp in March and competition was intense to gain the coveted places for the matches against England, Wales and Catalonia.

Stewart Morgan, one of two selections from Queen Anne High School, will skipper the boys’ team, and he said: “I have gained confidence.

“I expect us to improve even more by playing at Meadowbank.”

The inclusion of Jordan Gorman (Gairloch High School) is an example of the game’s expansion.

“This is our second year of events at this age group,” said boys’ under-14 coach, Paul Boath. “Last year we went to Spain and this year it wll be good to play at home.

“Highland has a really good set-up and the geographical spread of the teams is really encouraging. At this age, it is all about developing skills.”

Basketballscotland will be hosting the International Summer Slam at Meadowbank on 8-10 June – coinciding with the weekend when the GB Women Pre-Olympic Games squad take on Canada at the same Edinburgh venue.


Girls: Hannah Robb (Arbroath High School), Cara Fraser, Mollie Lisle, Daisy McGowan (all Culloden Academy), Freya Anderson (Alness Academy), Cara Simpson (Chryston High School), Niamh Walker, Rosanna Pollock (both Portobello High School), Shannon McAuley, Khera Ross (both St Maurice’s High School), Kara McCormick (Graeme High School), Leah Stewart (James Young High School), Emilie Johnstone (Gryffe High School), Nicole Davidson, Fiona Harris (both Paisley Grammar), Shelby Greig (John F Kennedey RC School).

Boys: Daniel Tran (Graeme High School), Daniel Obawole (Westhill Academy), David Milne (Monifieth High School), Michael Storey (Gryffe High School), Alastair Andrew (Milburn Academy), Kailin Brannigan (Arbroath High School), Kieran Dowling (Culloden Academy), Jordan Gorman (Gairloch High School), Ben Petrie (Meldrum Academy), Jake Sirrel, Stewart Morgan (both Queen Anne High School), Chris Jackson (St Thomas Of Aquin’s), Craig Ferguson (Stewart’s Melville College), Alastair Mathieson (Knightswood Secondary).