Schools hockey: Scotland girls banking on success in Santander

Share this article
Have your say

Kirsten Peters, who captained George Watson’s College to a string of indoor and outdoor titles this season, will be aiming for more success this summer as a member of Scotland’s squad for the EuroHockey Under-18 Home Nations Championship in Santander, Spain, in July.

Over the next few weeks, the players will work towards the tournament with a busy training schedule as well as a series of warm-up games against the Czech Republic in Prague next month.

Scotland Under-18 girls head coach Colin Clarke said: “The selection of the squad for the European Championships has been an extremely challenging one due to the quality of the training squad and this decision is testament to the hard work all of the girls have put in over recent months.”

Scotland Under-18 girls team manager Louise McIntyre added: “The girls recently performed exceptionally well during the Four Nations tournament in Lilleshall during Easter, winning the bronze medal, before going on to beat Wales twice in early April.

“The girls are now looking to build on these strong performances and to continue the hard work in the lead up to the Europeans.

“It has not been an easy task selecting the final squad and we congratulate all those who have been successful.”

SQUAD: Megan Inch (Strathallan School), Rowan Sinclair (Mary Esrkine School), Waverley Miller (George Watson’s College), Emily Newlands (Selkirk HS), Susan Graham (High School of Dundee), Katie Hibbert (Robert Gordon’s College), Kerry-Anne Hastings (Mary Erskine School), Alison Eadie (Hutchesons’ Grammar School), Maisie Morris (Kelvinside Academy), Laura Page (Albany University), Kirsten Peters (George Watson’s College), Jennifer Mathieson (Craigholme School), Jennifer Eadie (Hutchesons’ Grammar School), Jessica Ross (Morgan Academy), Millie Brown (Fettes College), Claire Hill (Kelso HS), Fiona Burnet (Lomond School), Emma McGregor (Firrhill HS). Travelling Reserves: Fiona MacKay (Jordanhill School), Emma Stewart (Lomond School), Zoe Sinclair (Wellington School), Katie Robertson (Kilgraston School).