Heriot Watt claim University title for fifth year in a row

HERIOT Watt University retained the Queen's Park Shield in a dramatic end to the Inter Scottish Universities Football Tournament when they defeated Glasgow University 4-2.

They secured the title as Edinburgh University were held to a goalless draw against Dundee University on Tayside.

The two results meant that both teams finished on 19 points but Heriot Watt had a better goal difference of plus four. They have now lifted the trophy for five consecutive seasons.

Ross Campbell, the delighted Heriot Watt University coach, said: "We lost our first two games in this season's competition and had only one point from a possible nine. However, we won six of our last seven games to bring ourselves back into the mix. Overall it has been an absolutely remarkable Queen's Park Shield with any one of five teams capable of winning it at various stages throughout the season. However, our guys deserve credit for coming back after their shocking start."

The goal scorers for Heriot Watt University were Spartans player Omar Kader, Oliver Antoni (2) and Alan Mitchell.

Heriot Watt University: Davidson, McLeod, Duff, Keast, Forbes, Henretty, Kader, Antoni, Mitchell, Watson, Cassidy. Subs: McLeish, Connor, Thomson, Bisset.

Edinburgh University found Dundee's defence in top form, especially central defender and Spartans player, Jonny Seeley.

Edinburgh dictated play, but they were guilty of squandering chances and not making full use of the ball in the final third.

Edinburgh University: Harkness, MacKinnon, Maxwell, Thompson, Cathcart, Hair, Beesley, Redman, Hazeldine, Hogg, Beck-Friis. Subs: Hughes, Milne, MacRae, Woods.