Talented trio scoop Federation Shield

Share this article
Have your say

A PIECE of Edinburgh’s 
golfing history lived on when 
21 teams competed for the Federation Shield at Torphin Hill.

The Capital club owes its origins to the Federation Shield, which was instituted in 1894 as the prize for a hotly-contested tournament between companies in the printing trade.

The winning team, with a gross score of 229, consisted of, from left, Stan Crombie, Troy O’Connor and Graham Chung.

Winners of the Marcus Ward Trophy, for the best net score of 217, were David Morrans, Neil Miller and Kevin Duss, while O’Connor’s 69 won the prize for best individual gross score.