Scots trio on course for Tour cards at Q-School

Share this article
Have your say

THREE Scots – Gary Orr, George Murray and Callum Macaulay – are in card-winning positions heading into the final round of the European Tour Qualifying School in Girona.

As Englishman John Parry, a team-mate of Rory McIlroy’s in the 2007 Walker Cup, opened up a four-shot lead on the back of a fifth-round 66, giving him a 17-under total at PGA Catalunya, Orr and Murray both signed for 72s to sit in a tie for 18th on six-under.

With the top 25 securing cards, Macaulay is also on course to have something to celebrate tonight as, after a 69, he’s tied for 22nd on five-under, three ahead of Alastair Forsyth (71).

Andrew McArthur, the last of the five Scots to qualify for the final two rounds, had lifted himself up into the top 25 after covering his opening six holes yesterday in four-under.

But a quadruple-bogey eight at the fourth – his 13th – stopped his card challenge in its tracks and he eventually signed for 75 to drop down to a tie for 57th on two over par.

Parry carded the joint best round of the day to end Tano Goya’s four-day reign at the summit and put the 2010 Vivendi Cup winner on course to become the fourth consecutive English winner of the Qualifying School, after David Dixon (2011), Simon Wakefield (2010) and Simon Khan (2009).

As a tension-filled final round unfolds today, Paul Lawrie will be teeing up in the Nedbank Golf Challenge at Sun City for the first time since 1999.

The Aberdonian joins Ryder Cup team-mates Justin Rose, Lee Westwood, Nicolas Colsaerts, Peter Hanson, Francesco Molinari and Martin Kaymer in a field that is completed by Swede Carl Pettersson, American Bill Haas and South Africans Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen and Garth Mulroy.

Meanwhile, in another big-money event, host Tiger Woods is up against two other members of Europe’s winning team at 
Medinah – Ian Poulter and Graeme McDowell – in the 18-man World Challenge at Sherwood Country Club in California.

McDowell is bidding to repeat his 2010 victory in the event.