Royal Musselburgh deliver imperious win

Share this article
Have your say

THE Musselburgh men made their move in the latest round of matches in the East Lothian Winter Golf league.

Royal Musselburgh marked their home debut by beating league leaders Longniddry 
4.5-0.5 while up at Monktonhall the home side picked up the points with a 3-2 victory over Tantallon.

North Berwick are the new leaders, though Gordon Milligan’s men were fortunate to emerge with a share of the spoils when they entertained Gullane.

The visitors looked set to record a valuable away win before Mike Gray and Chris Brown, this year’s Lothians Champion of Champions, stole a last-gasp win in the anchor match against veterans Rob Jack and Mike Corrie.

In Division 2 Haddington were untroubled by the visit of Castle Park, the home team running out comfortable 5-0 winners. And Craigielaw got off the bottom of the table with a win in a hard-fought match against local rivals Kilspindie.

Results: Division 1: Royal Musselburgh 4.5 Longniddry 0.5: Craig Johnstone & Chris Ratcliffe beat Michael Bacigalupo & Iain Wilson 2 holes; Jamie Ramsay & Chris Mackie halved with Nick Aiken & Graham Clarke ; Lewis Reid & Scott Cunningham beat Alan MacDonald & Daniel Eardley 5/3; Darren Fee & Stuart Blair beat David Porteous & Peter Henderson 4/3; Kenny Fee & Robert Cochrane beat J Watt & Fraser Johnstone 6/4. Juniors: Royal Musselburgh won w/o

North Berwick 2.5 Gullane 2.5: Chris Wood & Ally Simpson lost to Scott Walker & Duncan Low 2/1; George Cochrane & Richard Johnston halved with Stewart Menzies & Kenny Wright ; Horry Lawson & Craig Hardie beat Ross Thomson & Keith Millar 2/1; Euan Donaldson & Gordon Milligan lost to John Clelland & Greg Houlston 4/3; Chris Brown & Mike Gray beat Robert Jack & Mike Corrie 1 hole. Juniors: Clara Young & Cameron Hutchison lost to Graham Swan & Scott Gillies 2 holes.

Musselburgh 3 Tantallon 2: Calum Burgess & Lewis Bain beat Simon Holt & Andrew Doig 7/6; Brian Henderson & Norman Horsburgh lost to Fraser Symon & Michael Davidson 1 hole; Andrew Millar & Craig Dewar beat Eddie Danks & Neil Brown 5/4; Myles Clapperton & Benn McLeod beat James Park & Neil Park 5/4; Ian Fyfe & Tom Cordery lost to Mike Medine & Roddy Stevenson 1 hole. Juniors - Musselburgh won w/o.

Division 2: Craigielaw 3 Kilspindie 2: Tony Whitelaw & Ollie Duffy beat Martin Hay & Ross Colquhoun 7/6; Marcus Cullen & Andrew Mowley beat Graeme White & Gary Porteous 2 holes; Gary Webb & John Mann lost to Duncan Hamilton & Rob Paterson 3/2; Donald Palmer & David Neilson lost to Cameron Bourhill & Derek Naples 3/2; Martin McKechnie & Andrew Limmer beat George Gray & Grant Robertson 6/5.

Haddington 5 Castle Park 0: George Blair & David Warner beat Ian Sellwood & David Connachan 7/5; Glenn Anderson & Stuart Hamilton beat Nicky Brown & Andy Milligan 8/6; Neil Bain & James Patterson beat Ricky Thorburn & Duncan McNeil 3/2; Graeme McCann & Andrew Doctor beat Brian Thomson & Ian Laing 2/1; Craig O’Neill & Conor Bowles beat Allan McNeil & Wosckech Prus 3/2.