Lothians golf round-up: Murrayfield are Morison Millar winners

Denise Mitchell claimed a third title triumph in the Morison Millar tournament as part of a winning Murrayfield quartet at Swanston.

Morrison Millar winners - Murrayfield's Denise Mitchell, Marie Vandepeear, Val Mackenzie and Vicki Cullen
Morrison Millar winners - Murrayfield's Denise Mitchell, Marie Vandepeear, Val Mackenzie and Vicki Cullen

Mitchell joined forces with Marie Vandepeear, Val Mackenzie and Vicki Cullen to finish 11 shots clear of runners-up Dalmahoy B.

Meanwhile, Baberton’s Karen Marshall and Isla McCrone from Turnhouse were the main trophy winners in the Midlothian Women’s Summer Meeting at Deer Park.

Marshall picked up the Corstorphine Salver after carding the day’s best scratch score of 76, beating Murrayfield’s Caroline Steedman by three shots.

Nine-handicapper McCrone claimed the Dumayne Bowl with a nett 72 after coming out on top in a card play-off.

• Keith Young back with a bang at Glencorse

Keith Young won the Glencorse club championship after shaking off the rust to produce an incredible performance in the final.

Although he’d played no competitive golf for a couple of years, Young hit eight birdies and no bogeys in the opening round of the 36-hole title decider.

Despite shooting 66, opponent Jamie Morris found himself ten down and, though he pegged Young back a bit after lunch, eventually succumbed 5&4.

“I have played at Glencorse for nearly 60 years but seen nothing like it,” said Peter Lamb. “Keith is clearly still a class act.”

Stephen Lamb shot 63-62 to win the qualifiying but went out in the first round.

• Greg’s in good Nich at Mortonhall

Greg Nicolson has won the Mortonhall club championship for the first time since being reinstated as an amateur. He added to title triumphs in 2006 and 2008 by beating Rob Paterson, the defending champion, 5&4 in the final. In the ladies’ final, Karen Ferguson-Snedden beat defending champion Anne Brownie 7&6 to make it first-time lucky after she joined the club last December 2017. Other winners were Brendan Dick (seniors), Murray Cannon (juniors), David Duthie (gents’ B) and Hazel Carpenter (ladies’ B).

• Gullane’s amazing Grace

Gullane’s Grace Crawford recorded a notable double triumph in the East of Scotland Girls’ Summer Meeting at Royal Musselburgh.

She secured the top scratch prize with a gross 73 to lead eight qualifiers for the championship then added the Stephen Gallacher Trophy after beating Craigielaw’s Carys Irvine 5&4 in the final. Kirsten Murison (Craigmillar Park) won the overall handicap prize with a net 68.