Golf: League holders Royal Burgess in ‘group of death’

Share this article
Have your say

ROYAL BURGESS will need to try and secure a sixth successive Edinburgh Summer League title by coming through a “Group of Death”.

Five of last year’s quarter-finals in the Pollock (Scotrans) Ltd-sponsored event, which gets underway next week, have been drawn in Section A.

“When Derek Reilly and myself took over the management of the Royal Burgess side five years ago, we would have happily settled for one title as we had never won the Summer League before,” said team manager Richard Hughes.

“To have won five consecutive titles is beyond our wildest dreams, but, as the saying goes, you are only as good as your last game and this year we’re in what has been christened the ‘Group of Death’.

“The huge thing in our favour is the experience our side has gained over the last five years and that will stand us in good stead in tough matches, of which there promises to be a few.”

Joining the Barnton club in their round-robin group are Prestonfield, Silverknowes, Duddingston and Liberton.

“Outwith our section, Kingsknowe, West Linton, Bruntsfield, Baberton and Mortonhall will all feel they have a real shout this year,” added Hughes.

“But, as I have said in previous years, we are so proud of being Edinburgh champions and have no intention of giving our title away.

“Someone is going to have to take it off us and that will not be an easy task.”

Section B sees Musselburgh, Turnhouse, Merchants, Bruntsfield Links, Ratho Park and Craigmillar Park lock horns.

Glencorse, the finalists three years ago, are in Section C along with Baberton, Royal Musselburgh, Broomieknowe, Kingsknowe and Torphin Hill.

And, in Section D, Murrayfield, Newbattle, Lothianburn, Mortonhall, Swanston New and West Linton will do battle in the round-robin phase.

This year’s semi-finals are scheduled for September 1 at Murrayfield and Ratho Park, with the final due to be played Dalmahoy on September 15.