Golf briefs: McIlroy and Chapman net Golf Writers’ award | Paterson appointed to chair of SLGA

Share this article
Have your say

Another day, another award for both Rory McIlroy and Roger Chapman.

They have landed Player of the Year awards from the Golf Writers Association of America along with women’s world No 3 Stacy Lewis. The announcement came 24 hours after McIlroy won the European Tour Golfer of the Year title and 53-year-old Chapman, surprise winner of back-to-back majors on the US senior tour, was given honorary life membership of the European circuit.

McIlroy received 190 of the 194 votes in the GWAA poll, three going to FedEx Cup winner Brandt Snedeker and one to Tiger Woods, while Chapman had 60 per cent support in the senior ballot and American Lewis almost 79 per cent in the women’s category. The trio will be formally honoured at Augusta on the eve of next year’s Masters.

Paterson appointed to chair of SLGA

Having only advertised the position recently, the Scottish Ladies Golfing Association has wasted no time appointing a new chairman.

Beth Paterson, a member at Eastwood, has been nominated for the post and one of her major tasks during her three-year term will be to progress discussions with the Scottish Golf Union on amalgamation of the two governing bodies.

“I am looking forward to taking up the post and I am sure there will be many challenges,” said Paterson, who has been the SLGA’s training and performance director. “Working with the SGU on the amalgamation will be one of the main issues.”

Paterson is set to take over from Shona Malcolm when she steps down at next month’s annual meeting in Perth after a four-year stint.