Golf: Edinburgh set for summer

ROYAL BURGESS, winners for the last three years, will have Baberton for company for the second season running in the group phase of the Edinburgh Summer League.

The two clubs have been drawn in the only five-team section for next year's event and will also be up against Turnhouse, Liberton and Torphin Hill.

Glencorse, this year's beaten finalists, are in a group alongside Kingsknowe, Musselburgh, Prestonfield, Mortonhall and Merchants.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Duddingston and Silverknowes are in the same section yet again and will need to be firing on all cylinders to finish in the top two as they appear to have come out of the hat in the toughest section alongside West Linton, Bruntsfield, Newbattle and Lothianburn.

In the remaining group, neighbours Dalmahoy and Ratho Park have Broomieknowe, Craigmillar Park, Murrayfield and Swanston for company.

At the League's agm, it was agreed that there would be no fixture clashes with either the Lothians Championship or the Dispatch Trophy next year.

Due to this year's final being staged later than had been hoped, the clubs also agreed to a proposed schedule for the later stages of the 2011 event.

The quarter-finals will be held by August 14, with the semi-finals the following Sunday with the final on September 4.

Section 1: Royal Burgess, Baberton, Turnhouse, Liberton and Torphin Hill. Section 2: Broomieknowe, Craigmillar Park, Dalmahoy, Ratho, Murrayfield and Swanston. Section 3: West Linton, Duddingston, Bruntsfield, Newbattle, Lothianburn and Silverknowes. Section 4: Glencorse, Kingsknowe, Musselburgh, Prestonfield, Mortonhall and Merchants.