Transfer roundup: No money changes hands in SFL

Have your say

Despite spending most of the working day discussing League reconstruction SFL officials kept their offices at Hampden open for business until late last night in order that a number of deals could be done.

There was no great movement of players across the three lower leagues in Scotland and no transfer fee was paid 
between any clubs, however there was a European transfer with former Motherwell full-back Ross McKinnon returning from Dutch side Veendam to sign for Elgin City.

Recently appointed Annan manager Jim Chapman has started to go to work as he was involved with three players coming in and three players going out. Kieran McGachie has joined Jack Steele in leaving Galabank by mutual consent and Andrew Donley has joined South of Scotland side St Cuthbert’s on loan whereas coming in the way is Queen of the South front man Daniel Orsi and Morton front man Lewis Hawke on loan deals, with Hibs youngster Harry
Monaghan extending his temporary time at the Third Division side.

The day did bring a strange co-incidence in that two members of the last team to represent Aberdeen in a major cup final were both released by their clubs. Robbie Winters, who ended up playing most of the 2000 Scottish Cup final against Rangers in goal after Jim Leighton picked up a facial injury that ended his career, was released after a short spell with Peterhead and midfielder David Rowson severed his ties with Partick Thistle after 251 games for the First Division side.

Players can only play for two clubs in a season and Rowson’s involvement with the Warriors as well as donning Thistle colours rule him out of playing anywhere else.

Full back Paul McGinn is a beneficiary of the complex rules, though, as the St Mirren full back has been allowed to join Dumbarton on loan until the end of the season despite having already played for Queen’s Park.

Rangers youngster Gregor Fotheringham’s loan move to Forfar was a late piece of business with the defender joining the Loons until the end of the season on a temporary basis.


Jordan Allan (Hamilton Accies – Bo’ness Juniors – loan)

Kieran Brennan (Arbroath – released)

David Brownlie - (Rangers – Youth to Professional Contract)

Scott Dalziel (Brechin City - Berwick Rangers)

Andrew Donley (Annan – St Cuthbert’s – loan)

Ross Forsyth (Dumbarton – Stirling Albion – loan)

Gregor Fotheringham (Rangers – Forfar – loan)

Bryan Gilfillan (Clyde – released)

Lewis Hawke (Morton – Annan – loan)

Kane Hemmings (Rangers – Cowdenbeath – loan extended)

Andy Hunter (Stirling – released)

James Keatings (Hamilton – Celtic – loan cancelled)

Dale Keenan (Partick Thistle – East Fife – loan)

Nicky Mann (Arbroath – released)

Harry Monaghan (Hibs – Annan – loan extended)

Craig Moore (Motherwell – Cowdenbeath – loan)

Gavin Morrison (Inverness Caledonian Thistle – Elgin City – loan)

Michael Mossie (Rangers – Youth to Professional Contract)

Grant Mosson (Stenhousemuir – released)

Kieran McGachie (Annan – released)

Conner McGlinchey (Hamilton Accies – released)

Paul McGinn (St Mirren – Dumbarton – loan)

Neil McGregor (Dundee – Ayr United –loan )

Ross McKinnon (Veendam – Elgin City)

Daniel Orsi (Queen of the South – Annan – loan)

Joe Prince-Wright (Arbroath – released)

David Rowson (Partick Thistle – released)

Scott Sally (Airdrie United – released)

David Scott (Forfar – released)

David Smith (Hearts - Raith Rovers – loan extended)

Ewan Smith (Hibs to Arbroath – loan)

Sam Stanton (Hibs – Cowdenbeath – loan extended)

Jack Steele (Annan – released)

Pat Walker (Dumbarton – Albion Rovers)

Ian Watt (Queen’s Park – Carluke Rovers – loan)

Robbie Winters (Peterhead – released)