Local heroes St Margaret’s enjoy Airdrie win

Share this article
Have your say

FOOTBALL: It was terrible weather and it took sudden-death penalties to decide the winners.

But, eventually, it was St Margaret’s High School celebrating victory over St Peter the Apostle High School in this season’s Lloyds TSB Scotland Under-16 Shield at the Excelsior Stadium in Airdrie.

St Margaret’s is an Airdrie school so it was a popular win – the ultimate heroes were goalkeeper Liam Tiute and Dario Robertson.

Driving rain and strong winds made classy football all but impossible and chances were few and far between. With 20 minutes gone St Margaret’s had their first attempt on goal as Luke Tiute – brother of goalkeeper Liam – fed Cameron McClair, but Scott Wright in the St Peter’s goal was on hand to save comfortably. Half-time and 0-0.

The second half followed a similar pattern, although there was a late attempt by St Peter’s to snatch the title when David Seagrave stung Liam Tiute’s hands with a scorching 35-yard shot.

Then Luke Tiute saw his header tipped onto the crossbar by Wright in the St Peter’s goal, before Dylan Higgins shot over from the rebound.

But it was still stalemate at the final whistle so it was on to the dramas of a penalty shoot out. Daniel Finnigan (St Margaret’s) and Liam Deane (St Peter the Apostle) both failed with the first attempts before McClair, Liam and Luke Tiute and Ciaran Reilly netted for St Margaret’s with Calum Campbell, Kyle Chalmers, Ciaran Murray and Mikey Hopkins doing likewise for St Peter’s.

Still honours even it was on to sudden death. Whilst Tiute saved from Paul McKenna, Robertson slotted away the crucial kick for St Margaret’s to ensure that the Shield would stay in Airdrie after leaving the ground.

St Margaret’s High School: Liam Tiute, Connor Harper, Paul McAllister, Liam Baillie, Dario Robertson, Marco Cozzari, Dylan Higgins, Daniel Johnston, Luke Tiute, Ciaran Reilly, Cameron McClair, Daniel Finnigan, Michael Crielly, Anthony Ogilvie, Marc Airlie.

St Peter the Apostle High School: Scott Wright, Connor O’Donohue, Calum Campbell, Liam Deane, Darrel Flemming, Ryan Forrester, Christopher Dooley, Craig Cowan, Kyle Chalmers, Sam Gallacher, Mikey Hopkins, Paul McKenna, David Seagrave, Paul McLauchlin, Ciaran Murray, Nathan Gallacher.