Florentino Perez returns as Real Madrid president

Florentino Perez: Fourth term at Real. Picture: PA
Florentino Perez: Fourth term at Real. Picture: PA
Share this article
Have your say

Florentino Perez will take charge for his fourth term as president of Spanish giants Real Madrid after the club 
confirmed yesterday that no other candidates had declared themselves for the presidential elections that were due to take place later this month.

Last year, the 66-year-old construction magnate won the backing of members for time and financial statute changes that make it harder for outsiders to seize control of the club.

A potential presidential candidate has to have been a club member for at least 20 years, up from 10 years previously, and must personally provide a bank guarantee worth 15 per cent of the club’s budget – around €75 million – rather than relying on any third party.

Perez will be officially presented for another four-year term at the Santiago Bernabeu tomorrow.

One of the first issues he will need to address will be to appoint a new coach after Jose Mourinho and the club agreed a parting of the ways, despite the 
Portuguese having three years left on his contract.

Paris St Germain’s Carlo Ancelotti and departing Bayern Munich boss 
Jupp Heynckes have been linked with the post.

Real finished the season without winning a major trophy after coming second behind arch-rivals Barcelona in La Liga, falling to Borussia Dortmund in the semi-finals of the Champions League and losing the King’s Cup final to city neighbours Atletico Madrid.

Perez was president between 2000 and 2006 when he was the architect of the “Galacticos” policy that brought big-name players such as Zinedine 
Zidane, Luis Figo and David Beckham to the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu, before quitting mid-term.

He returned to the club in 2009, after Ramon Calderon had been forced to step down after being accused of vote-rigging at a club general assembly.

Real Madrid are one of four Spanish top-flight clubs owned by their members, alongside Barcelona, Athletic 
Bilbao and Pamplona-based Osasuna.