Ricksen and Hartson share Player of the Year prize

THE Old Firm split the honours at the Player of the Year awards in Glasgow last night, as the top award was won jointly by Rangers’ Fernando Ricksen and Celtic’s John Hartson - the first time in its 28-year history the prize has been shared.

The pair could not be separated in the voting by their fellow professionals, and each was named the Digby Brown/SPFA Player of the Year at the annual dinner in the Thistle Hotel.

Hibernian’s Derek Riordan was named the Young Player of the Year, a day after he scored his 22nd goal of the campaign.

Falkirk’s championship winning season was recognised with their veteran midfielder Russell Latapy collecting the First Division award.

Brechin City players were able to continue their celebrations after lifting the title on Saturday as striker Steve Hampshire was named Second Division player of the year.

And there was no stopping high-flying Gretna as the influential David Bingham collected the Third Division player of the year award.