Parkhead trio in race for Player of Year award

CELTIC players outnumber Rangers three to one in the race to become the Scottish Players’ Player of the Year, reflecting the domestic dominance of the Parkhead side this season.

Henrik Larsson, Chris Sutton and Stilian Petrov are all strong contenders for Martin O’Neill’s side, while Rangers’ sole representative among the nominees is goalkeeper Stefan Klos.

The Scottish Professional Footballers Association have announced the nominations for the award coveted by all professionals in the country because of the recognition it brings from their peers. The winner will be announced at the Players Union dinner, which is being held on Sunday in Glasgow.

Celtic’s mid-season signing from Motherwell, Stephen Pearson, is among four of the emerging talents who have been nominated for the Young Player of the Year. Pearson’s former team-mate, David Clarkson, along with Hearts keeper Craig Gordon and Hibs’ Derek Riordan, are also in the frame.

The promotion race is reflected in the nominations for the First Division Player of the Year, with Inverness pair David Bingham and Paul Ritchie joined by Clyde striker Ian Harty and Russell Latapy of Falkirk.

The Second Division nominations are Peter Weatherson and John Maisano of Morton, along with Forfar’s Paul Tosh and Gareth Hutchison of Berwick Rangers.

And in the Third Division, Stirling Albion pair Scott McLean and George Rowe are nominated along with Michael Moore of Stranraer and Gretna’s Mike Galloway.