Hibs & Rangers stars up for Championship Player of the Year

Hibs duo Jason Cummings and John McGinn, left, have both been nominated. Picture: SNS
Hibs duo Jason Cummings and John McGinn, left, have both been nominated. Picture: SNS
Share this article
Have your say

Two players each from Hibernian and Rangers make up the four nominees for the 2015/16 Ladbrokes Championship Player of the Year award.

Leading goalscorer Martyn Waghorn and club captain Lee Wallace have been chosen from champions Rangers, while John McGinn and Jason Cummings make up the Easter Road contingent.

It means there’s no place for Rangers right back James Tavernier, despite the defender getting into double figures in both goals and assists this season.

It also means a complete absence of any player from Falkirk despite Peter Houston’s side currently sitting above Hibs in the league table.

Dunfermline Athletic have two players in contention for the League One Player of the Year award. Allan Johnston’s side stormed to the title this campaign thanks, in part, to the attacking play of striker Faissal El Bakhtaoui and winger Joe Cardle, both of whom have been selected alongside Cowdenbeath’s Greig Spence and Peterhead striker Rory McAllister

In League Two, champions East Fife have striker Nathan Austin and midfield playmaker Kyle Wilkie among the four Player of the Year hopefuls. There’s no spot for anyone from Barry Ferguson’s Clyde, with Annan Athletic’s Peter Weatherson and Bobby Linn of Arbroath (who won the award last year) completing the list.

Last season’s awards were won by Linn, Scott Allan (Hibs) for the Championship and Declan McManus (Morton) in League One.

READ MORE - Overrated or underrated? Rangers right back James Tavernier


Keep up to date with all our sport news on The Scotsman’s Sport page on Facebook

Follow @ScotsmanSport for the latest sports news and comment