Celtic's Griffiths & Tierney up for Player of the Year awards

Celtic stars Leigh Griffiths and Kieran Tierney top the short-lists for Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

Kieran Tierney is up for the Young Player of the Year award. Picture: SNS
Kieran Tierney is up for the Young Player of the Year award. Picture: SNS

Premiership top-scorer and stand-out performer of the season, Celtic striker Griffiths will be considered the favourite for the Premiership Player of the Year award after scoring 29 goals so far this season for the champions. Head and shoulders above the other nominees, it would be a shock for Griffiths not to receive the award from his fellow professionals.

The other players on the short-list are Aberdeen’s Jonny Hayes, and Dundee’s Kane Hemmings and Greg Stewart with Stewart receiving his second consecutive nomination for the award after being on the list last season.

Sign up to our Football newsletter

Sign up to our Football newsletter

There is no place for Aberdeen striker Adam Rooney despite 19 goals for the Dons, nor Motherwell striker Lewis Moult who has netted 15 times. Also out of the running is Celtic midfielder Tom Rogic who, under Ronny Deila, has performed remarkably in a transformational season for the 23-year-old.

Jonny Hayes has been nominated after a near ever-present season with Aberdeen, only curtailed by his sending off against Hearts and a hamstring injury in late February. Hayes’ season has included four goals and 10 assists in the Premiership for the Dons.

Dundee’s Kane Hemmings is also in the running after a superb season in front of goal, scoring 21 times in 33 games for the Dens Park club. Also from the Dundee ranks is Greg Stewart who has been nominated after being involved in 25 goals this season, including 14 assists.

The Young Player of the Year award will be a close fought affair, with Kieran Tierney, John McGinn, Jason Cummings and Barrie McKay all in the running.

Celtic starlet Tierney will be considered the favourite after an exceptionally consistent season at left back, and will hope to emulate his former team-mate Jason Denayer who won the award last season.

Hibernian midfielder John McGinn will make it a close fight however after his consistent high quality performances early in the season for the Easter Road club earned him a Scotland cap against Denmark in March.

Hibs’ enigmatic striker Jason Cummings is also in the running after another successful season in front of goal for Alan Stubbs’ team, scoring 24 times for Hibs this season, while Rangers midfielder Barrie McKay will add the ceremony to his list of engagements in May after helping to push his Rangers side into the Scottish Cup final.

The annual awards, voted on by Scottish football professionals, will announce the victor on the 1st May.

Read More

Read More
Rumour Mill: Nigel Pearson for Celtic? | Old Firm clash at Wembley | Petrov eyes...