Champions Currie secure SRU's top club award

Share this article

CURRIE last night added the SRU's club of the season award to their Premier One title, beating off a host of risers in this season's divisions.

The Malleny Park rugby, who finished the season nine points clear of second-placed Ayr, were recognised with the Scottish Hydro club of the month award for April after concluding the season with just one league defeat.They fell in their quest for a league and cup double only at the semi-final stage of the Scottish Hydro Cup when they lost out to Melrose.

On-field performance is only one aspect of the award made at last night's annual SRU Club Awards dinner at Murrayfield, however, with the SRU also looking at discipline, youth development, the performances of other teams within the club and the numbers of qualified coaches and referees produced among other areas.

Currie's resurrected 3rd XV won their league this season, the 2nd XV secured promotion and in youth rugby their S1 side ended the season undefeated while the National Under-15 and Under-18 Youth Cups were also landed this term.

Also nominated were Dalziel, Orkney, Greenock Wanderers, North Berwick, Garioch and Lasswade, all of whom have registered similar success throughout their clubs this season and played a major role in developing youth rugby.

The 2009-10 coach of the year award was won by Jimmy Sinclair, who piloted Dalziel into the Premier leagues. The top player award, the Scottish Hydro Premier One player of the season, went to Ayr prop Gordon Reid and female referee Mhair Hay landed the referee of the season trophy.

Craig Wilson (Kirkcaldy), Iain Cook (Cartha Queens Park), Craig Simmonds (Dalziel), Keiren Smith (Greenock Wanderers), Alan Auld (Allan Glen's), Ross Lumsden (Aberdeen Wanderers), John Grant (Lismore) and Ross Gilmour (Cumbernauld) were voted the top players in the lower leagues.

Stirling County Women scooped the women's club of the year award just two years after being formed, while Sarah Smith of Hillhead/Jordanhill won the women's player of the year for the Premier divisions and Melrose's Sarah Inglis scooped the National leagues' top player award.

A special Spirit of Rugby award was won by Bill Smith, a former player, captain and coach of Forrester and leading light of rugby development in the west of Edinburgh for over 25 years.

Smith launched the charity trust 'React 2 Rugby' that promotes healthy living across the community, manages the 1st XV, sorts the laundry and can still be found in the kitchen at games cooking and serving the after-match meals.