Carroll names squad for amateur Four Nations

RUGBY LEAGUE: Scotland have named nine Edinburgh Eagles and three Coventry Bears players in their A team squad to play England Community Lions, Ireland Wolfhounds and Wales Dragons in the Amateur Four Nations Championships this summer. Coach Ash Carroll has kept faith with the majority of the squad who took Scotland to second place last season, his first in charge, and includes full internationals Mike Stewart, Calum Cockburn, Giles Lomax and Paddy Coupar. Veteran Mark Webster returns after several years’ absence. Rupert Holt from Moray Titans is among the new faces. Scotland have been runners-up three times and champions once, in 2010, in the last seven championships, a record bettered only by reigning champions Wales.

Squad: Brad Massey, Michael Venn (both Coventry Bears); Finn Lamont (Bank Top); Alex Stevens (Exeter) Scott Clendenning ( Coventry Bears); Mark Webster (Blackbrook); Mike Stewart (Gloucestershire U); Daryl Davies (Ayrshire); Calum Anderson, Calum Cockburn, Craig Borthwick, Dave Vernon (all Edinburgh Eagles), Ross Bryan (Ayrshire); Tom Murray, Patrick Coupar, Giles Lomax, Colin Jarvis (all Edinburgh Eagles), Ray Festorazzi – (Ayrshire Storm), Niall Parkinson (Edinburgh Eagles), Rupert Holt (Moray Titans).