Mo Mo Super Mo Award for Farah

Share this article
Have your say

DOUBLE Olympic champion Mo Farah has won the men’s athlete of the year award from the European Athletics federation for a second straight year.

The British distance runner, who completed a 5,000-10,000 metres double at the London Olympics in August, beat two Frenchmen to the European honour. Olympic pole vault champion Renaud Lavillenie finished second and sprinter Christophe Lemaitre was third. Farah also retained his European 5,000 title at Helsinki six weeks earlier.

Britain completed an awards double after Olympic heptathlon gold medalist Jessica Ennis won the women’s accolade.

Picture: Ian Rutherford