How your MP voted on Theresa May’s Brexit deal

How your MP voted on Theresa May’s Brexit deal
Protesters outside the Houses of Parliament (Photo by Jake McPherson/Getty Images)

A total of 391 MPs from constituencies across the country voted against Theresa May’s Brexit deal in last night’s devastating blow for the Prime Minister.

MPs rejected the deal by 391 to 242, just over two weeks before the proposed date for Britain to leave the EU.

The majority of 149 was less than the record of 230 in January, but still a humiliating defeat for Mrs May.

Although 39 previous Tory rebels came back on side, 75 joined the opposition parties to reject the deal.

Use our interactive map to see how your MP voted. Visualisation by Flourish

The Prime Minister told the Commons that she was “profoundly sorry” at the outcome.

“Voting against leaving without a deal and for an extension does not solve the problems we face.

“The EU will want to know what use we mean to make of such an extension and this House will have to answer that question. Does it wish to revoke Article 50? Does it want to hold a second referendum? Or does it want to leave with a deal, but not this deal?

“These are unenviable choices. Thanks to the decision that the House has made this evening, they are choices that must now be faced.”

MPs are now due to vote on whether Britain should leave the EU with no deal at all.

If the vote is carried, MPs will be asked on Thursday as to whether they want Mrs May to ask Brussels for an extension to Article 50, delaying Britain’s departure from the EU.

To find out how your MP voted on Tuesday night, use our interactive map of the parliamentary constituencies and MPs.