Scottish judge appointed President of UK's highest court

The next president of the UK's highest court has spoken of his "great honour" at being appointed.

Lord Reed. Picture: Supreme Court
Lord Reed. Picture: Supreme Court

Lord Reed, the current Deputy President of the Supreme Court, will replace Lady Hale when she retires in January 2020.

In a statement issued as his appointment was announced on Wednesday, Lord Reed said: "It is a great honour to succeed Lady Hale as President of the Supreme Court.

"In this year when we are celebrating the 10th anniversary of the opening of the court, I reflect on the achievements of the distinguished presidents who have come before me.

"I am privileged to follow them in working with my colleagues to maintain the fundamental role which the Supreme Court plays in the law of our country.


Hide Ad

"As president, I will continue to champion the rule of law, alongside promoting public understanding of the role of the judiciary and maintaining the high regard in which the court is held around the world."

Lord Reed's appointment was made by the Queen on the advice of the Prime Minister and Lord Chancellor, following the recommendations of independent selection commissions.

He was appointed as a justice of the Supreme Court in February 2012 and has served as its deputy president since June 2018.

He previously served as a judge in Scotland and sometimes sits as a judge at the European Court of Human Rights and the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal.


Hide Ad

He was educated at the universities of Edinburgh and Oxford before qualifying as an advocate in Scotland and a barrister in England and Wales.

It was also announced on Wednesday that Lord Justice Hamblen, Lord Justice Leggatt and Professor Andrew Burrows will join the Supreme Court as justices on January 13, April 21 and June 2 2020 respectively.

Lady Hale said: "I am delighted to welcome the appointments of three new justices, all of whom are distinguished in their fields, and who will join the court during 2020.

"I congratulate Lord Justice Hamblen, Lord Justice Leggatt and Professor Burrows, and am confident that they will contribute to the success of the court greatly."