Briefing board


COLIN Edgar has been named as Glasgow City Council's new head of public relations. Edgar, 30, is originally from Glasgow and is married with two children. He is currently external communications manager for BAE Systems Naval Ships, based in Scotstoun, Glasgow, and has previously worked as head of communications for the Scottish Labour Party and as a producer for BBC Scotland.

MICHAEL Craigie has been appointed as the new head of transport at Shetland Islands Council. He is currently the council's capital projects manager and will take up his new role over the next few weeks. The head of transport's remit includes overseeing public transport, the delivery of a transport strategy for Shetland and the provision of support for the new Shetland Transport Partnership.

EDINBURGH City Council has appointed its first employee health and wellbeing advisor. Lesley Norris began her new job with the council on Monday. The new post has been created to help the council gain a gold prize in Scotland's Health at Work (SHAW) award scheme. Council officials say Norris will work across a much wider range of activities than those carried out by the traditional occupational health officer. The new post has a more strategic role, including advising senior management on health promotion priorities as well as working with staff to promote healthy living.

JEAN Tulloch is the new Lord-Lieutenant of Dumfries. She will succeed Captain Ronald Cunningham-Jardine on 20 September. She has been a deputy lieutenant for Dumfries since 1998 and is president of the Dumfries and Galloway branch of the Red Cross.

DAVID Henderson has won the Ward 53 (Lochardil) by-election in Inverness. The Scottish Liberal Democrat candidate won with a majority of 251 votes over his nearest rival, Michael Gimson, an independent. The turn out was 53.9 per cent with a total of 1,172 votes cast. The vacancy was created by the death of independent councillor Margaret MacLennan. The Highland Council is now made up of the following members: 53 independents; 13 Liberal Democrats; eight for Labour; and six Scottish Nationalists.

FOUR board members have been reappointed to the Scottish Arts Council. Each of the board members will serve for a further three years. Officials say they will continue to lend their expertise to the board as the council transforms into Creative Scotland, the new cultural development agency. The reappointed board members are: Roy McEwan, the managing director of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra; Ben Twist, a freelance theatre director and producer; Steve Grimmond, the head of community services at Fife Council; and Jennifer Hawksworth, who runs her own management consultancy.


THE Financial Services Authority (FSA) has approved plans to set up a credit union in the Western Isles. Angus Campbell, vice-convener of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar, says: "Setting up a credit union has been a key objective of this comhairle and I'm delighted the necessary FSA approval has been secured. This is another example of a project that will benefit the whole community. I'd like to urge everybody in the Western Isles - regardless of circumstances - to become members of the credit union as soon as the office opens."


THE housing services team at West Lothian Council has won the Scottish Awards for Business Excellence 2005-6. North Ayrshire Council's building services and Stow College were both highly commended. "This is a really outstanding achievement," says Bruce Ferrie, convener of the council's health and care committee. "These awards are open to any organisation from the private, public or voluntary sectors."

THE Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (CoSLA) is looking for entries for its 2007 Excellence Awards. Categories include: service improvement and customer needs; advancing community well-being; health improvement; innovative use of technology; "one to watch"; and securing a workforce for the future. There are also three special prizes: the Best Team Award, sponsored by SOLACE Scotland; the Delivering Excellence Award, sponsored by the Scottish Executive; and the Chair's Award. The closing date for entries is 29 September. More details from Vicki Lewis on 0131-474 9232 or by e-mailing