Edinburgh Award nominations open

Share this article
Have your say

The hunt for this year’s Edinburgh Award winner is now on, with nominations being sought from communities, businesses and individuals across the Capital.

First launched in 2007, the Award is a way for Edinburgh citizens to pay a lasting tribute to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the city through their achievements. The previous recipients are Ian Rankin, JK Rowling, Sir Chris Hoy, George Kerr CBE and Professor Peter Higgs, each of whom have their handprints cast in Caithness stone and placed in front of the City Chambers.

Nominations can be submitted online at http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/edinburghaward or posted to the Lord Provost, who will chair the judging panel.

Nominations must include why the nominator thinks the individual should receive the award, and how they have made a positive impact on the city. Completed nomination forms must be received by December 3.