DJ Krystle cracks it with gong for Forth 1

FORTH One DJ Krystle Weaver is celebrating today after winning a top prize at the radio industry "Oscars" for her late night music show.

The 25-year-old presenter of Friday Night Floorfillers with Krystle was handed the Gold gong in the Specialist Music Programme category at last night's Sony Radio Academy Awards.

Her show was rated ahead of BBC Radio 2's Somethin' Else and BBC Radio 1's new music programme presented by Zane Lowe.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Judges described Friday Night Floorfillers as "magical and utterly captivating radio" and commended it for being able to attract such high profile guests on such a small budget.

The panel also described Krystle as "a self-producing presenter able to create a world so witty and illuminating and so lacking in pretension".

They added: "All this is a shining example of the way radio should be heading in the 21st century."

Other winners included Russell Brand, who won his first Gold award, while Simon Mayo on Radio 5 Live beat Today veteran John Humphrys to Speech Broadcaster of the Year.

Radio 1's Chris Moyles won a Sony Gold for best Breakfast Show and Jonathan Ross on Radio 2 won the Music Radio Personality Award.

Judges described Moyles' show as "creative, original and utterly brilliant", with a presenting team that sounds like work-mates having fun.

Moyles, who called himself "The Saviour of Early Morning Radio", used his acceptance speech to ask BBC audio and music director Jenny Abramsky for a pay rise.

"Jenny, you can sign it off before you leave," he said.

Radio 4 won UK Station of the Year, putting Radio 2, the UK's most popular station, in second place. Dermot O'Leary beat fellow Radio 2 DJ Johnnie Walker to the Music Programme award.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Planet Rock, the radio station which is expected to close at the end of the month if it cannot find a buyer, was named Digital Station of the Year.

Queen guitarist Brian May has said he is involved in a "rescue operation" to save the GCap Media station.

Jenny Abramsky, who is stepping down as director of audio and music at the BBC to chair the Heritage Lottery Fund, won the Special Award.

British broadcaster Brian Matthew won The Gold Award for "an impressive record of more than 50 years of national and international radio broadcasting".

BBC 6 Music's George Lamb was awarded the Rising Star award, beating Kelly Osbourne on Radio 1.

The accolades were announced last night at London's Grosvenor House Hotel where veteran broadcaster Paul Gambaccini hosted the gold, silver and bronze awards, across 31 categories.

Award presenters also included new London mayor Boris Johnson, actress Joan Collins, singer Will Young and Edinburgh-born former Orange Juice frontman Edwyn Collins, who has returned to touring again, three years after suffering two cerebral brain haemorrhages that nearly killed him.