Andy Murray makes annual Who’s Who list

Andy Murray: Scot named in Who's Who list. Picture: Getty
Andy Murray: Scot named in Who's Who list. Picture: Getty
Share this article
Have your say

HE WAS the first Briton to win a tennis Grand Slam for 76 years, made it to the finals at Wimbledon, took gold at the London Olympics and is in the running for BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

Now Andy Murray has crowned a remarkable year with his inclusion in Who’s Who.

The latest edition of the directory of the great and the good is published today and includes 66 new Scottish entries. At 25, the tennis player is one of the youngest people ever to appear.

Other Scots entries include Jock McFadyen, 62, the Paisley-born artist who earlier this year was elected to the Royal Academy.

Mushtaq Ahmad, the Lord Lieutenant of Lanarkshire, makes his first appearance in Who’s Who at the age of 70.

Among the other entries are the Glasgow-born writer Amanatha Forna, who won the 2011 Commonwealth Writer’s Prize for her novel The Memory of Love, and the Labour MSP, Siobhan McMahon.

Elizabeth Roads, Lyon Clerk and Keeper of Records, gets an entry, along with Ian Ritchie, president of the Royal College of Surgeons, Kath Mainland, chief executive of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, and Kate Mavor, chief executive of the National Trust of Scotland.

Professor John Curtice, the political academic and regular contributor to The Scotsman, also makes his debut in this year’s edition and tells his story in 19 lines, the same length of entry as Pope Benedict XVI.

Published annually since 1849, Who’s Who was originally designed as a handy reference book of notable people such as landed gentry, MPs and clergy, but now casts its net across the whole spectrum of British society, including medicine, science, the arts and sport.

Admission is by invitation only, with the book’s editors writing to those they deem suitable for inclusion and asking them to fill out a questionnaire.

Unlike other reference books, the amount of information included is dictated by what each person wishes to see in print, with what is excluded often as interesting as what is left in. The playwright John Osborne famously failed to mention a daughter from whom he was then estranged.

Another interesting insight can be found in each person’s listed recreations. Hugh Mac-
Diarmid, who appeared under his real name Christopher Murray Grieve, listed as his recreation “anglophobia”, while another entrant, Stephen Chambers, listed “contemplating revenge”.

Tennis is one of the most common pastimes listed in Who’s Who, but while it was unlikely that Murray would list it – it is, after all, his profession – his beloved computer games might have been mentioned. Instead he fails to list any pastimes.

The late romantic novelist, Dame Barbara Cartland, once hogged 222 lines to explain her mostly literary achievements, but the entries of the new Scottish contingent are comparatively brief and modest.

Murray and Ms Mavor explain themselves in just ten lines each, while Mr Ahmad tells his story in 14 lines, the same number as the entry of US president Barack Obama and four fewer than the entry of Alex Salmond, the First Minister.

WHO’S WHO 2012

1 George Adam, Lord Provost and Lord Lieutenant of Aberdeen

2 Sheenagh Adams, Keeper of the Registers of Scotland

3 Andy Murray, tennis player

4 Michael Alexander, news editor Dundee Courier

5 Bruce Beveridge, chair, Centre For Rural Development Scottish Land and Estates

6 Alastair Brown, All Scotland Floating Sheriff

7 Ewan Brown, chairman, Scottish Financial Enterprise

8 Prof Muffy Calder, University of Glasgow

9 Michael Cantlay, chair, VisitScotland

10 David Coates,University of Dundee

11 Mushtaq Ahmad, Lord Lieutenant of Lanarkshire

12 Donald Corke, Sheriff of Lothian

13 Eugene Creally QC

14 Prof John Curtice, University of Strathclyde

15 Dennis Dick ,Chair, Tayside Biodiversity Partnership

16 Sadie Docherty, Lord Provost of Glasgow

17 Major General Nicholas Eeles, GCO, Edinburgh Castle

18 Martyn Evans, chief executive, Carnegie Trust

19 Sir John Good, chairman, Edrington Group

20 Anna Gregor, consultant oncologist, Lothian Health Board

21 Derek Hamilton, Sheriff of North Strathclyde

22 Amanatta Forna, Glasgow born writer

23 Jock McFadyen, Paisley born artist and Royal Academician

24 John Hamilton, QC

25 Prof Ronald Hay, University of Dundee

26 Prof David Hopkins, Heriot-Watt University

27 Lesley Knox, chairman Grosvenor Group

28 Prof Angus Lamond, University of Dundee

29 Prof Nigel Leask, University of Glasgow

30 Mark Lindsay QC

31 Richard Lyle, SNP, Scottish Parliament

32 Prof Francis McCormac, University of Stirling, vice chancellor

33 Margaret McCulloch, Labour, Scottish Parliament

34 Angus McDonald, SNP,Scottish Parliament

35 Sir James McDonald, vice chancellor University of Strathclyde

36 Very Rev Susan MacDonald, Dean of Edinburgh

37 Prof Angus MacKenzie, director Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre

38 Iain McLaren,president Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland

39 Siobhan McMahon, Labour, Scottish Parliament

40 Very Rev Nicola McNelly, Provost, St John The Divine Cathedral, Oban

41 Kathleen Mainland, chief executive, Edinburgh Festival Fringe

42 Jennifer Marra, Labour, Scottish Parliament

43 Katherine Mavor,chief executive National Trust for Scotland

44 Prof Andrew Millar, University of Edinburgh

45 Rosalyn Moore, Chief Nursing Officer,Scotland

46 Prof Andrew Morris, University of Dundee

47 John Mundy, Sheriff of Tayside

48 Derek O Carroll, All Scotland Floating Sheriff

49 Peter Paterson, All Scotland Floating Sheriff

50 Scott Pattison Floating Sheriff of South Strathclyde

51 Sir Francis Peto

52 Major General Timothy Radford, General Officer Commanding Theatre Troops

53 Professor Jason Reese

54 Ian Ritchie, President, Royal College ol Surgeons of Edinburgh

55 Elizabeth Roads, Lyon Clerk and Keeper of the Records

56 Professor Jyoti Satsangi, University of Edinburgh

57 Wendy Sheehan, Sheriff of Glasgow

58 Professor David Sherrington, University of Strathclyde

59 Marion Smith, sculptor

60 Dr Andrew Steven,member Scottish Law Commission

61 Marjorie Stewart, Vice Lord Lieutenant of Renfrewshire

62 Teresa Tennant, President,Ice Organisation

63 William Walker, SNP, Scottish Parliament

64 Iain Watt, Edinburgh Dragon Trust

65 Donald Wilson, Lord Lieutenant and Lord Provost of Edinburgh

66 Prof Mark Woolhouse, University of Edinburgh