The Macallan Amber named whisky of the year

The Macallan Amber has been named whisky of the year
The Macallan Amber has been named whisky of the year
Share this article
Have your say

The Whisky Shop has named The Macallan Amber as its Whisky of the Year 2013.

The Macallan Amber was selected from The Whisky Shop’s extensive range of over 300 whiskies based on a combination of customer choice, sales and recommendations from store managers.

The Macallan Amber, priced at £59.99, takes on the signature style of one of the world’s biggst selling malts charecterised by oak sherry casks.

For the 1824 Series, which is not defined by age, also includes gold, Sienna and Ruby expressions.

Ken Grier, Director of Malts, Edrington, said: “We are delighted to receive this award for The Macallan Amber. Amber is the second expression in our new 1824 Series of four single malts and is the perfect combination of two of the most influential factors which make this single malt whisky amongst the most distinctive and desirable, namely sherry seasoned oak casks and natural colour. The Macallan Amber, by name and appearance, boasts a floral, citrus and sweet vanilla nose with hints of toffee apple, cinnamon and ginger, finishing with soft fruits and subtle oak lingering.

“This recognition is testimony both to this innovative approach to whisky making of taking colour as the basis for shaping these whiskies, and to the long experience of our Whisky Maker, Bob Dalgarno. As some 60% of the aroma and flavour of The Macallan derives from the oak maturation casks, Amber truly demonstrates the critical role of our exceptional casks.”

Andrew Torrance, Managing Director of The Whisky Shop, said: “Although it was only launched earlier this year, The Macallan Amber has already established itself as one of our leading single malts.

“Our Whisky of the Year is voted for by our customers as well as our knowledgeable store managers, which underlines the impact of this new addition to The Macallan range and The Macallan Amber is a highly deserving winner of our Whisky of the Year 2013.”

Previous winners of the award, which is now in its seventh year, are Jura Superstition, Dalmore 12 year old, Laphroaig Quarter Cask, Auchentoshan 12 year old, Bowmore 12 year old and Bunnahabhain 12 year old.