Scotsman Publications scoops five Scottish Press Awards

Share this article
Have your say

SCOTSMAN Publications landed five top accolades at last night’s 34th Scottish Press Awards.

Ian Rutherford was named 2012’s news photographer of the year for The Scotsman and Scotland on Sunday, while feature writer Dani Garavelli scooped newspaper feature writer of the year.

Aidan Smith won sports feature writer of the year for his work for The Scotsman and Scotland on Sunday.

The Edinburgh Evening News was honoured for its excellent coverage of the Mortonhall baby ashes scandal.

Associate editor, Gina Davidson, won Scoop of the Year for breaking the story, and a group of the paper’s reporters were rewarded for their work with the Team of the Year title.

Rutherford was also runner-up in the Sports Photographer of the Year category, while Peter Ross of the SoS was named runner-up in the Feature of the Year category. Brian Adcock was runner up in the Cartoonist of the Year accolade, after winning the same category last year.

Johnston Press publication, the Falkirk Herald, was named weekly newspaper of the year, while David Robinson, of The Scotsman, was runner-up in the Magazine Writer of the Year category.

A spokesman for the judging panel, said; “The standard of this year’s entries has been particularly high and as judges we’ve had to make some difficult decisions.

“However, after much deliberation we’ve awarded those we feel were particularly worthy of recognition and we’d like to thank all of the entrants for their continued contribution to Scottish journalism.”