Scottish Property Awards: fierce competition

Have your say

There was fierce competition for the main awards for public buildings and regeneration projects in the inaugural Scottish Property Awards last year, and it’s the same again this time.

In many ways, these awards are the ones that most capture the eye of the public because they usually involve projects that are based in a community and are designed for that community’s use.

That’s one reason why the Development of the Year (Public buildings) award, sponsored by BRE Scotland, is much coveted.

Last year, the award was won by the Maryhill Burgh Halls development in Glasgow, designed by JM Architects. Highly commended was The Olympia, also in Glasgow, a major work by Clyde Gateway as part of that organisation’s impressive ongoing 
regeneration of the city.

Glasgow does not feature in the category this year, but that is giving a range of projects up and down the country their chance to shine at tonight’s ceremony in the Edinburgh International 
Conference Centre.

This year there is a very welcome appearance from a project in the Highlands. The large development of Inverness Campus by Highlands and Islands Enterprise is a major collaborative project which is set to injectnew investment into the area.

Described as a “nationally and internationally significant location for business, research and education”, the Campus is bound to be one of the chief contenders for the award.

In contrast, the relatively small Ardrossan Medical Centre in Ayrshire by Irvine Bay Developments showed how a small important project can inspire and bind the community.

Not far up the road in Johnstone, the judges admired the work Renfrewshire Council took on with Johnstone Town Hall.

This new facility is home to range of modern community facilities including Johnstone library, a theatre space, marriage suite, conference area, a cafe and meeting spaces. It also offers a cluster of council services under one roof, including housing, social work and AdviceWorks, as well as Police Scotlad and Macmillan Cancer Support.

Last but definitely not least is a project that is close to the heart of a community in East Dunbartonshire. Lairdsland Primary School in Kirkintilloch showed the judges how the Scottish Futures Trust initiative continues to offer a multi-disciplinary blueprint for new schools.

The old Lairdsland Primary had been in existence since 1875, and the new school looks set to enjoy that sort of longevity.

No matter who wins this 
prestigious award, all the finalists have literally changed the face of Scotland for the better.

•Development of the Year (Public buildings) sponsored by BRE Scotland Inverness Campus (Highlands and Islands Enterprise); Ardrossan Medical Centre, Ayrshire (Irvine Bay Developments); Johnstone Town Hall, Renfrewshire (Renfrewshire Council); Lairdsland Primary School, Kirkintilloch (Scottish Futures Trust)

•Development of the YeaR (Commercial Buildings) sponsored by Ryden The Albus, Bridgeton (Clyde Gateway); One, Rutherglen Links, South Lanarkshire (Clyde Gateway); Prime Four, Aberdeen (Drum Property Group); ABZ Business Park, Aberdeen (ABZ Developments)

• Architectural Excellence Award (Public Buildings) sponsored by Wolffe The Rowett Institute of Nutrition and Health, Aberdeen (Halliday Fraser Munro); Maggie’s Cancer Care Centre, Aberdeen (Halliday Fraser Munro and Snohetta); Maggie’s Centre, Airdrie (Reiach and Hall Architects); South Beach Medical Centre, Ardrossan (Reiach and Hall Architects); Bannockburn Visitors Centre (Reiach and Hall Architects)

• Architectural Excellence (Commercial Buildings) sponsored by Call Print Balmoral Business Park, Aberdeen (Halliday Fraser Munro); Nexen Petroleum UK Limited, Aberdeen (Halliday Fraser Munro); Albus, Eastgate, Bridgeton (JM Architects); GDF Suez House, Aberdeen (Miller Cromdale)

• City Regeneration Project of the Year sponsored by Scottish Cities Alliance Anderston Regeneration, Glasgow (CCG); Duke Street and High Street, Glasgow (GHA, Anderson Bell Christie and Cruden Building and Renewals); The Whisky Bond, Glasgow (Glasgow Canal Partnership); Albus, Eastgate, Bridgeton (JM Architects); Quartermile, Edinburgh (Quartermile Ventures); Laurieston Living, Glasgow (Urban Union)

• Town Centre Regeneration Project of the Year Bridgegate Public, Realm Irvine, North Ayrshire (Austin-Smith Lord); One, Rutherglen Links, Rutherglen, South Lanarkshire (Clyde Gateway); Ardrossan Medical Centre, Ardrossan, Ayrshire (Irvine Bay Developments); Linwood town centre, Renfrewshire (Manson Architects)

• Community Partnership of the Year sponsored by G+V Royal Mile Hotel Maggie’s Cancer Care, Aberdeen (Halliday Fraser Munro); The Shields Centre, Glasgow (Hub West Scotland); Hillhead Community Centre, Kirkintilloch (Hub West Scotland)

• Best Achievement in Master Planning sponsored by The Scotsman Fountainbridge Masterplan, Edinburgh – EDI Group (7n Architects); Persley Den, Aberdeen (Halliday Fraser Munro); D2 Business Park, Aberdeen (Miller Developments); Hallhill, Dunbar (Ross Developments and Renewables); Pennywell Masterplan, Edinburgh (Urban Union); Winchburgh Masterplan (Winchburgh Developments)

• Property Agency Team of the Year sponsored by BoS Ceteris Property Team (Scotland); Cushman & Wakefield; Jones Lang LaSalle; Rettie & Co; Ryden

• Property Funding Team of the Year sponsored by Baker Tilly Amber Infrastructure & The SPRUCE Fund; Bank of Scotland; RBS Real Estate Finance Scotland; Santander Corporate & Commercial Banking