History and charm at The Old Chain Pier

A CAMRA Pub of the Year back in 2001, The Old Chain Pier is as much a part of the Newhaven landscape as the crashing waves on the harbour walls.

Jutting out into the Forth, on the site of the ticket office of the chain pier which dated from 1821, but was destroyed by a massive storm in 1898, the bar is just 20 minutes from Princes Street (get the 16 bus which stops directly outside).

The pub has become an Edinburgh landmark, in part because of the legendary Betty Moss, who ran the establishment from 1896 to 1968.

Built over the sea wall, with stunning views across the Forth Estuary to Fife and to the Forth Bridges, this historic pub boasts great drink, good value food and friendly staff and customers.

Child-friendly and dog- friendly - well-behaved children from two to 14 years old are welcome until 7.30pm, while well-behaved dogs on leads are welcome when food service has finished after 9.30pm - the Old Chain Pier also has free WiFi internet for those who need to keep in touch with the office or home over a drink or business lunch.

Food is traditional, with a constantly changing specials menu of home-cooked dishes such as pan-fried squid, and green-lipped mussels, while favourites such as fish and chips and steak pies are also available, as are a selection of vegetarian dishes.

Meals are served between noon and 9pm, Monday to Saturdays (8pm Sundays).

Good food, beer and spec-tacular views . . . what more could you ask for in a pub?

• The Old Chain Pier, 32 Trinity Crescent, Edinburgh, 0131-552 1233