STV awarded new licence

Share this article
Have your say

STV has been awarded a licence to broadcast for a further ten years.

The UK government has announced the move, which will take effect from 2014, and 
regulator Ofcom will now 
discuss terms with the various licence holders who are able to broadcast on Channel 3 and 5.

The Channel 3 licences are held by ITV in England, Wales and the Channel Islands, STV in Scotland and UTV in 
Northern Ireland, while the Channel 5 licence is held by Northern & Shell.

The move could also lead to the reinstatement of Border TV on Channel 3 under the negotiations, which have to include public service broadcasting.