City of Culture: Aberdeen and Dundee vie for prize

Share this article
Have your say

Eleven contenders have been put forward to become the next UK City of Culture in 2017.

Culture minister Ed Vaizey announced the bids, which include Aberdeen, Chester, Dundee, Hastings and Bexhill-on-Sea, Hull, Leicester, Plymouth, Southend-on-Sea and a joint application from Portsmouth and Southampton.

They also include East Kent – which covers Ashford, Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone and Thanet – and Swansea Bay, made up of Swansea, Carmarthenshire, Neath and Port Talbot.

Mr Vaizey said: “This shows the appetite for the prestigious City of Culture title is in healthy supply.”