Lloyds chief Rice among seven directors reappointed to Bank of England court

SUSAN Rice, chairman and chief executive of Lloyds TSB Scotland and managing director of Lloyds Banking Group Scotland, has been reappointed as a director of the Bank of England.

Rice is one of seven non-executive directors reappointed to the Court of the Bank of England, alongside FSA chairman Lord Turner of Ecchinswell, TUC general secretary Brendan Barber and Roger Carr, chair of Centrica and Cadbury Schweppes.

Mark Tucker, outgoing group chief executive of Prudential and former group finance director of HBOS, has been appointed as a new director, as has Abbey National chief executive Antnio Horta-Osrio and Harrison Hurst Young, non-executive director of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

Chancellor Alistair Darling said: "I am delighted to announce the appointment of the new non-executive directors of the Bank of England. They will work with the governors and Sir David Lees (chair-designate of the Court] to implement the reforms to the Bank of England and ensure that it continues to fulfil its existing responsibilities effectively.

"The current Court of the Bank of England, chaired by Sir John Parker, has had to steer the Bank through unprecedented financial conditions."

Barber, Carr, Rice and Young have been appointed for a two-year term, while Osrio, Tucker and Turner have been appointed for three years. The different terms are to "ensure continuity" for the Court.