Scotland's Pioneering Spirits


Over the past 12 years the Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards have paid tribute to some of Scotland's most talented individuals: from household names such as James McAvoy, Ewan McGregor, Gordon Ramsay, Alex Ferguson, Kirsty Wark and JK Rowling to less well-known individuals who excel out of the public eye. This year's winner will be announced at a glittering Awards ceremony to be held at the luxurious Prestonfield Hotel in Edinburgh on 2 December.

last chance

Leven Brown & Don Lennox


Catriona Morrison


Chris Paterson


Alastair Kellock



Susan Philipsz


Kenny Hunter


Andy Scott


Richard Demarco

artist and promoter


This year's nominees

Denise Mina


James Robertson


Alan Warner


Andrew O'Hagan



Isobel Campbell


Catriona McKay


Biffy Clyro


Paolo Nutini




Dr John March

CEO, Big DNA Ltd

Dougal Sharp

md, Innis & Gunn

Dr Rabinder Buttar

president and chief exec, ClinTec Int

Sir Bill Gammell

Chief Exec, Cairn Energy PLC


Richard Yemm

Wave power company founder

Isle of Eigg Heritage Trust


Alan Caldwell

ethical entrepreneur

Roy Dennis

wildlife consultant



Paul Welsh


Martin Compston


Steven Moffat

writer and producer

Karen Gillan



to vote

Iain Burnett


Roy Brett


Mac Mackie & family

Mackie's of Scotland

Victor & Carina Contini


Top Scot" is the premiere accolade in the Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards. Previous winners have included Olympian Chris Hoy, singers Sharleen Spiteri and Susan Boyle and author JK Rowling, whose recent 10 million donation to establish a new Multiple Sclerosis research clinic demonstrated her commitment to using her success for the good of others. The first ever Top Scot winner, Kirsty Wark, will compere this year's Awards ceremony at the Prestonfield Hotel in December but it is up to you to decide who will collect the accolade.

Hide Ad

There is a raft of potential winners: Mark Beaumont, the serial adventurer who, having achieved the world record for the fastest circumnavigation of the world by bicycle in 2009, this year went on to complete another ultra-endurance solo journey by cycling The Americas; golfer Colin Montgomerie who enjoyed one of his finest moments when he captained Europe to a win in the Ryder Cup, or Aberdeen's Robbie Renwick who swam his way to Scotland's first gold medal at the Commonwealth Games. There are also many potential contenders from the other Scottish gold medal winners at the Games or from amongst this year's line up of talented nominees. Below is a round up of the previous weeks' nominees.

how to vote To vote in the Awards simply complete the entry coupon or vote online at

vote to win Voting in this year's Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards not only gives you a say in who should pick up a gong, it also gives you the chance to win an inspiring prize.

Our top prize is a pioneering visit for two to the Glenfiddich Distillery, including luxury accommodation and the opportunity to try a new experience. The winner will stay at the beautiful Meldrum House country hotel and golf club in scenic Oldmeldrum, enjoying fabulous cuisine and relaxing in the hotel's stunning contemporary rooms. They will be taken on a personalised VIP tour of Glenfiddich - including a nosing and tasting masterclass with the chance to sample the Glenfiddich range of single malts including Glenfiddich 12, 15, 18 and 21-year-old. Finally, they can select an outdoor experience to try from a range of activities. The combination of Meldrum House's stylish, luxurious rooms and acclaimed restaurant with Glenfiddich's historic distillery showcasing whisky-making at its best will make for the most memorable of winter breaks.

PLUS 20 runners-up can raise a glass to mark this year's Awards with a bottle of award-winning Glenfiddich Special Reserve 12-Year-Old, the world's favourite single malt.

Post to: Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards, The Glenfiddich Distillery, Dufftown, Banffshire, AB55 4DH. Closing date for all nominations is 12 November 2010. More information on the Glenfiddich range and prize conditions can be found at All entrants must be over 18.

Hide Ad

• This article was first published in The Scotsman on November 6, 2010