Royal Mail release Game of Thrones stamps

Daenerys Targaryen, Jon Snow and Arya Stark are among Game Of Thrones characters that will feature on a new series of stamps, Royal Mail has announced.

The collection of a sample of some of the Game of Thrones stamps.

They are among ten main protagonists from the hit HBO fantasy programme, based on the books by George RR Martin, who feature in the set that goes on sale on 23 January.

The set of 15 first class stamps is being released to highlight British contributions to the series.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The seven series so far have been mostly filmed in Northern Ireland with a predominantly British and Irish cast.

Game of Thrones stamps are due to be released.

As well as the characters played by Emilia Clarke, Kit Harington and Maisie Williams, the roll-call of figures from Westeros also includes Cersei Lannister (Lena Headey), Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner), Tywin Lannister (Charles Dance), Eddard Stark (Sean Bean), Olenna Tyrell (Dame Diana Rigg), Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage), and Jaime Lannister (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau).

There is also a five-stamp sheet featuring images of the Night King and his undead White Walkers, plus giants, direwolves and dragons – and the Iron Throne.

The collection’s release comes ahead of the eighth and final series, which is currently in production.

Fans can pre-order stamps now from the Royal Mail ­website and buy them from 23 January.

Game of Thrones stamps are due to be released.