‘Hurt’ Christian Nade denies accusation of diving

Dumbarton's Christian Nade (right) appeals to referee Steven Finnie having gone to ground. Picture: SNS
Dumbarton's Christian Nade (right) appeals to referee Steven Finnie having gone to ground. Picture: SNS
Share this article
2
Have your say

Christian Nade vehemently denies the accusation that he dived in an attempt to win a penalty in Dumbarton’s 5-0 loss to Dundee.

The Sons were eliminated from the Scottish Cup after they were soundly beaten by their Ladbrokes Premiership hosts in the fifth round replay at Dens Park.

The victory might not have been so one-side had Nade won a first half penalty. The striker went down under the challenge of Darren O’Dea.

However, instead of issuing a spot-kick and chance for Dumbarton to pull it back to 2-1, referee Stephen Finnie booked the striker for simulation.

It was one of three bookings Finnie gave out for play-acting on the night, though Nade insists it wasn’t deserved in his case.

He told the Daily Record: “I feel hurt by it all. It’s the first time I have been booked for such a thing.

“The referee said there was contact but not enough to give a penalty.

“I would never dive to win a penalty. I just want to clear my name because it’s a reputation I wouldn’t want to stick.”

READ MORE - Rumour Mill: Celtic eye Copenhagen star | Forrest ‘like Messi’ | Stubbs coy over title bid

THE SCOTSMAN ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Keep up to date with all our sport news on The Scotsman’s Sport page on Facebook

Follow @ScotsmanSport for the latest sports news and comment