Moray Council by-election candidates named

Share this article
Have your say

SIX candidates are to contest the by-election on Moray Council caused by the resignation of a councillor who claimed she was hounded out of office by a stalker, waging an anonymous hate-mail campaign against her.

Carolle Ralph stepped down from Moray Council in December, after just six months representing Lossiemouth’s Heldon and Laich ward for the SNP.

A spokesman for Moray Council said today: “The by-election will take place on Thursday, 7 March, with the count taking place at Lossiemouth Town Hall the following day.”

The six candidates contesting the by-election are Pete Bloomfield (Conservative), John Cowe (Independent), Stuart Crowther (Scottish National Party), Jeff Hamilton (Independent), James MacKessack-Leitch (Scottish Green Party) and Nick Traynor (Independent).