Stages of grief

Share this article
Have your say

To understand what many people in this country are experiencing at the moment it is worth considering the five stages of loss and grief.

1. Denial – a normal defence mechanism to protect against overwhelming emotions of loss. Therefore 45 per cent v 55 per cent equals a victory, and proceed on that basis.

2. Anger – plenty of that as reality intrudes, some of it not conducive to bringing us all back together again as one fine nation.

3. Bargaining – plenty of that to look forward to and hopefully a solution that is seen as fair and equitable to all.

4. Depression – we all need to be aware of this, particularly among our young citizens.

5. Acceptance – not guaranteed for everyone but hopefully enough of us for the country to move forward in a cohesive manner.

(Dr) Bruce Halliday

Dalbeattie Road