- 272-274 Morrison Street
- Edinburgh, Scotland
- EH3 8DT
- 01312 285666
7 February 2013
Well priced with a decent range of dishes. Pretty swift service. The restaurant is a bit draughty though, as noted by earlier reviewers. Could also do with having the extractor fan in the gents fitted back into the plasterboard. A good place to go with a group of mates though so I'd be happy to make a return visit.
27 October 2011
I really like Kebabish Original. I go often simply because its across from my flat and the food is good, fairly priced and the service is also reasonable. I cant say that i have ever had a bad (or even average meal there). Its always really busy and lively and thats always a good sign. No corkage on the BYOB either !
17 March 2011
After hearing a rave review from an ex work colleague (who can be quite a snob), and walking past the restaurant's 'flash' exterior (well it looks fancy when you remember the bed shop that used to be there) I decided to give Kebabish a bash.
First of all, I have to agree with the below reviewer. Our table was slightly dirty. The restaurant itself was cold and although the waiter was very helpful to the point of nervousness, I can't say I was too impressed with the food. I mean, it was okay but nothing too spectacular. Maybe it's because it was a weekday evening but there wasn't much atmosphere either.
I highly doubt I'll be back but I reckon it makes sense as an addition to Dalry road and will probably do well in the area as there's not much else to choose from in the way of mid price range sit in restaurants. I'm guessing they'll do well with the student population on the way home from town, if they open late enough to exploit this market.
20 February 2011
not great - i complained via the facebook page:
My complaint sent on the 10th February 2011
very disappointed with your service last night, the table was dirty when we sat at it, there wasn't enough staff on, no service with a smile, the table kept moving all night - which actually caused my little boys chips to fall - no apology - or replacement offered - the dessert was a rip off - having looked at your prices am shocked at what u are charging for nan bread and soft drinks - very disappointed with kebabish Edinburgh!!
and received the following response:
A response from Husnan Ahmed received on 14th February2011
I would like to comment on the above, firstly i would like to state that we at Kebabish Original try our best to satisfy all our customers, we have never had any complaints about our staff just praise for them, On the night you were in we were very busy, however if you had found that the table you were sitting on is not comfortable for you, all you need to do is ask and we would put you onto another table, i am afraid that there is no chance that the movement of the table would cause your boys chips to fall as this is impossible, and looking at the CCTV you were away from the table at the time and your boy accidently dropped the bowl of chips and your partner had appologised, so i am not sure why we would appologise for this.
Finally in regards to our prices we are the most reasonable priced restaurant in Edinburgh, we source the best quality products for our customers, and anyone wishing to look at our prices they can log on to our website http://www.ko-edinburg... so everyone has an idea of what they are paying before they come to the restaurant and in comparison to other restaurants i am sure that we are lower priced than any other, maybe you are comparing prices with takeaways which have a few seating..?
does not care about customer service whatsoever and made out that we were lying!! - Khushis and Imams are way better!
26 November 2010
Just been here tonight for the first time. I'd bought a voucher from Groupon and, after hearing mixed reviews about Groupon itself, this was my first time trying a voucher so i was a bit wary. I booked this afternoon and made sure I told them I had a voucher and where it was from. There was no hassle and my table was booked for 8pm.
When we showed up however it was clear that there had been some mistake and whoever had taken the booking either hadn't understood me or had forgotten to write it down. There was no hassle though and after a very short wait we were seated with apologies for delay and the terms of the voucher explained.
After a popadum plate, samosa and pakora starter, korma and passanda main with rice and two naan, all of which were delicious and took some time in choosing from the extensive menu, we were too stuffed for pudding and settled for a mocktail which finished the meal off nicely :o)
It's bring your own bottle without a corkage fee, which is great, because some places are ridiculously expensive just for the use of a corkscrew! The waiting staff were really good, always on hand and if they couldn't answer a question sent someone over who could. The place is clean and well organised, has a nice feel and an open kitchen, which I love because you feel they have nothing to hide.
I'm definitely going back.
Results of Kebabish Original in Edinburgh in association with